We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky old Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Oakland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quirky old Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was an interesting property. Large sprawling group of buildings - one building for check-in, one for my room and another for the reastaurant - good for a little exercise. These are older but clean rooms with great beds, but just not accomodating modern business travellers - no electrical outlets at the desk. Outlets at the bed required that you move the mattress for access and then unplug something else - the light or the clock/radio.However, it was a large room with proper temperature control. The breakfast buffet was very average considering the price. Great location for the Oakland Airport if that is required.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    100
    108
    65
    33
See reviews for
62
67
30
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is really close to the airport with a nice bar (free popcorn is a nice treat), cafe and meeting rooms are spacious. Rooms are clean and staff is friendly. This was my 1st time staying here, but I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We paid for a "park and fly" and it was very convenient for our flight to Hawaii. The room was roomy and clean. The bar was nice for an after-dinner drink (Raiders on TV-- you're in Oakland, after all!). The breakfast (not inclusive) was good with good service (and not horribly over-priced).

The delivery and pickup to/from the airport was easy and quick.

(The Hawaiian Airlines crews seem to stay there consistently -- must be pretty good.)

Room Tip: Our room's window faced the inner circle drive -- no noise. For the park and fly, only 7 days p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Airport for a Raiders game, they have a free shuttle that picked us up from the airport (you need to call once you get your luggage to arrange pickup). Check in was easy, very nice staff, had a nice room, in room safe, pool, workout room, the hotel can be a bit confusing at first as it has 4 seperate buildings or so. Free wifi in hotel lobby only. The restaurant/sports bar is right out front in the building across from it. Great sports bar for Raider fans! They have a round trip shuttle to Raider games for $6, the Coliseum is not really walkable, at least 20 minute walk or more and near highways. I would for sure stay here again next time I come to a Raiders game!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton while in town for an Oakland Raiders game. We got a room for $109 in advance. They offer a shuttle to the Oakland coliseum for $6 per person, and after the game was over, it was a good walk back to the hotel.
Our room was small, and didn't have a refrigerator or microwave. The coffee pot was on the bathroom sink right next to the toilet, which seemed a filthy place to keep a coffee pot. There was also mold in the shower. We had a handicapped room, with a bench seat in the shower. I didn't put the bench down, but it was folded up against the wall, and there was a lot of mold all over the underside part of the bench seat. There was also mold in the seams of the shower.
On a positive note, the staff were very friendly, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room itself was clean, and it was very quiet.
I have never stayed in a Hilton before, but from the name alone I was just expecting more. There was a charge to park your car and a charge for wired WI-fi in the rooms. We stayed at a hotel in San Francisco the night before for the same price with free parking, free Wi-fi, and a free continental breakfast in a great location. They offered more than the Hilton, and San Francisco is a lot more fun.
The Hilton was a good stay and convenient to the coliseum, just not what I expected it to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After reading the reviews, I was certain that his would be quite the fleabag. Initially we were given a room across from the ice/vending machines - really noisey. Had we not been relocated on request, this review may have been a bit sour. The room we were reassigned to was essentially the same, but quiet. The bed linens were better than expected, including a down comforter. It's hard to say anything negative. It's an airport hotel, convenient, clean, accommodating, comfortable. You'll be happiest if you get a discount. Parking costs an additional $11 - there are no off- site options.

Room Tip: Anything away from the elevators or ice/ vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Pretty much what one can expect from an airport hotel, but not a Hilton. The Restaurant service is so bad it is almost comical. It's pretty much the only option for food, other than a good italian spot a few blocks away. I skipped meals rather than eating at the hotel bar. I went three different times, with three different wait staff/bartenders and it was consistently bad. I'm not sure what is really going on at that place lol

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Oakland Airport

Address: 1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Oakland Airport 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.