We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“32 Nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Oakland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Oakland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“32 Nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I spent 32 nights in a row at this hotel. Normally I stay at the Homewood, but they were booked up and I had to stay in this Hilton. I really don't know what people are talking about when they say the rooms are dated at this property, everything looked new to modern in my room. In fact, I know my fridge was new because it still had tape from the manufacturer on the inside holding the racks in place. So perhaps they are doing updates?
I would also like to say that the staff here is absolutely amazing. I stay in lots of hotels, I know when I'm getting "nice because I have to be nice" and "nice because I'm happy to be here" these folks are a prime example of the later. I never had anything but great interactions with the staff and after 32 Nights, I am amazed by that fact.
They offer free laundry for guests and the fitness center is by far the best I have ever seen in a hotel.
There are some annoyances though, like paying for parking. I understand the need to monitor the lots, but just include the cost in the price of my room. Having to pay out $11.75 every day was annoying, and while I could have loaded up the ticket they give you with enough to cover parking for the entire stay, I didn't come expecting to pay $376 just to park during my stay.
Also, the WiFi isn't free here unless you're a Gold or Diamond Hilton Honors member. I found codes to use to get me on for free (since I hit Gold while staying here), but the connection would slow down considerably in the evenings.
The most annoying thing about this hotel (and I'm not counting this against them) is what happens when the Raiders play. As someone who is only here for work I was not a happy camper on game day. Glass would be breaking in the parking lot, guys would be screaming in the hallways, and trash would end up strewn everywhere.
I'd totally stay here again (although, probably only for shorter stays since the rooms don't even have a microwave). Honestly, if they'd just include the parking and wifi in the cost of the room, I'd probably be so happy I'd give it 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Building 3 has ample parking behind it, the laundry facility and the fitness center connects to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    105
    111
    68
    33
See reviews for
62
68
32
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would not stay here again. The hotel was dated and not like your typical Hilton. I realize I was in the Bay Area but I had to pay over $200 per night. Not worth it unless you had an early morning flight out if the airport. The sportsbar was ok, food was actually pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This place needs serious updating. The rooms have an outdated decor, dirty carpets, worn out bathrooms, and a heavy smell of mothballs to help you sleep.

The front desk staff was helpful and courteous. I wish I could say the same about the sports bar bartender.

If you have to stay here just muscle through it and move on in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Returned to this hotel for it's previously good all around stay. However, not pleased this time. Bathroom had body hair from last person in the room..disgusting. Electronic room key did not work after second use, parking card would not hold it's validation and food service in the restaurant was very slow, but the meal was good tasting and reasonable priced. I don't pay full price so I can have less than good full service and several minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles K, Manager at Hilton Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It is nice to learn that you were pleased with the location of our hotel, including the cleanliness of our guest rooms during your previous stays. I would like personally to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

In reading your comments, I sincerely apologize for the condition in which you found the room. I have personally spoken to our housekeeping managers, and supervisors relating to room inspections prior to guest arrivals. It is my hope that we will not have repeat occurrences like these in the future. It it more than a minor inconvenience to our valued guests to have demagnetized keycards after the first use. Although there is nothing we can do about magnetization of our keycards, we can be more diligent in the future as it relates to applying the proper validation period for parking. I have personally begun retraining the staff on selecting the proper date of check-out as it pertains to our parking ticket system.

I would like to sincerely thank you for your time and feedback! I hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service the next time you are in the area!

Warmest regards,

Charles Kong
Director of Front Office
Hilton Oakland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here one night for an early morning flight. The parking lot is a pay lot and you have to take a ticket to get in. We were planning on unloading our car and returning it to the car rental first thing. There was an event going on, so we had to circle to find a spot(no spots were saved for customers checking in)and since it was a large lot, we found a spot some distance away, no problem. It took us awhile to check in and asked at desk about the validation for parking and were told we "would not have a problem at all". We then found the room, went to move car and unpacked it. There was no lounging, we went to leave immediately. We then went to exit and were told we had to pay $3 to park. Whaaaat??? We told her that the lady at front desk said there was no problem. But we had to pay. You get 20 minutes to get all your stuff in your room and we took 30!!! REALLY???? If they were quicker on the check in, had reserved guest parking and the room was located close to check in, MAYBE you could do it in 20? Not that day!!
So, you only get once to make a first impression, and they failed with us. Having said that, the room was good, clean. As noted, they only give you 2 towels regardless of # of guests. They obviously talked to their drivers. We took the rental car shuttle and the airport shuttle and the drivers were friendly, courteous and opened the doors. I'd go back, but I would definitely advise anyone to get their parking VALIDATED no matter what the front desk clerk says! Again, their first impression never really left us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Not my favorite Hilton property, but I would stay there anytime I needed to be close to the Oakland Airport. The room was very clean, with the exception that there was a wasp in the bathroom that scared my wife something terrible. After killing the wasp, she settled down. If she had her choice I am sure this review would be horrible.

Breakfast was quite good with eggs cooked to order on the buffet.

For a full service Hilton, I think this one is average . . .however if you are Hilton points junkie like I am, you will find it satisfactory. Unless you find a wasp and actually get stung!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles K, Manager at Hilton Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Jason,

It is nice to learn that you were pleased with the location of our hotel, including the cleanliness of our guest rooms during your most recent stay. I would like personally to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

It is unfortunate, and I apologize for the wasp that you found in the bathroom. I have personally spoken to our housekeeping managers, supervisors, and our engineering team in regards to retraining on preventative maintenance and room inspections prior to guest arrivals. It is my hope that we will not have repeat occurrences like these in the future.

Thank you for your time and feedback!

Warmest regards,

Charles Kong
Director of Front Office
Hilton Oakland Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice for the price, as long as your not paying more then $120 in my opinion. Most higher end hotels were $160+ by OAK, this Hilton was $50 because we redeem some Hilton points. If i spent $160 probably would rather have stayed at the new holiday inn down the street, or I've stayed at the red lion for $85, rooms are nice there if you get the ones in the main building, but hotel is older - not that great of shape. Bring some food, nice restraunts in this area are hard to come by....just saying.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Oakland Airport

Address: 1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Oakland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.