We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Motel 6 Oakland Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8480 Edes Avenue, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Pavia, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been there many times because Alameda is a good location (easy to reach both from the Airport and from San Francisco downtown) if you want to skip the downtown (and find a cheaper hotel).
The rooms look a bit dated but are clean, the facilities are poor but I like the location. The breakfast is very basic (there is a Starbuck quite close...) and the internet is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    9
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We like the customer service at the motel and the room was clean but smelled and have to pay for the Internet that didn't work half the time made it hard to work.
Yes! The room look dated and need to be update ie new beds ,beding .
Like that is was close to the sport area O,co and airport .oh in-n-out burger too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We had no choice, cause we were very tired and it was already late, so we stayed here at the Ghetto 6!
No microwave, thin walls, no fridge, small rooms, prison feeling outside.
Wi-Fi costs extra and it is expensive anyway for what you get!
The only thing which was ok was the cleanliness.
We stayed in over 20 different motels the last 4 weeks, but this one was the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I arrived on a Saturday night and departed on Thursday morning. I stayed in room 1205, which was in the wing farthest away from the office.

The facility was packed on Saturday night and could be a bit intimidating. I would probably not take the chance to stay there again on Saturday, although my stay was uneventful. Sunday through Wednesday were quiet. Security was high profile. Door locks were solid and secure.

The room and furnishings were plain, but clean and adequate for a single traveler. At $60/night, the price was 1/2 to 2/3 of other Oakland motels.

I would stay there again, but might investigate the Embarcidero Motel 6.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest away from the office might be quieter. Sunday through Wednesday (I was not there Thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Security patrol everywhere , rooms are surpringly decent other than the walls are VERY thin & you can hear everything !!! Absolutely ghetto !! Do not stay here unless you have no other choice !! Paid $70 and it was probably worth $30 people coming in & out all night slept like crap cause the bed sucks !! We were passing through & were tired no choice ! Never again !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My first impression was that the hotel looked a bit scary from the outside, complete with a guard checking each guest in at the street and bulletproof glass in the lobby/reception area. But, the room was exceptionally clean and pretty comfortable (though admittedly a bit spartan, it is a basic room after all). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The airport is about 2 miles away and there is a bus (the 73) that runs along Hegenberger Ave, which is only a short walk from the hotel. Admittedly, it is a very basic accommodation: no shampoo, no conditioner, no iron, no hair dryer, and no shuttle, but it was very clean very convenient to the airport (and an in n out burger!), so I would say it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Again, my companion (Stella..my dog) and I are staying in Motel 6. Almost every Motel 6 we have stayed in is clean and consistent. Sometimes there will be cigarette holes in clean bed spreads and really that should be addressed!!! Carpets are okay, but bathroom is very clean here and have been in most I have been staying in. This property has 2 security officers. One is at the entrance checking cars in and the other walks around the property. It could be that crime in this area may be higher, but I feel safer with someone keeping watch.

Rooms are usually quiet and every now and then you will hear someone talking outside. Again, I get to drive up to my room and there is no pet fee!!

Room Tip: They have room service! However, there is a $15 service fee for the delivery. Many items available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel
Motel 6 Oakland
Oakland Motel 6
Oakland Motel Six
Motel Six Oakland
Address: 8480 Edes Avenue, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oakland Airport is located 3 miles from Oakland Intl Airport and walking distance to area dining. Visit the Port of Oakland Marinas, within 6 miles. Relax in our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.