We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero to your Saves list
Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1801 Embarcadero, I-880/Nimitz Freeway at 16th & 23rd Avenues, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

this hotel needs a visit from hotel impossible! I would love to upload the pictures I took of the Nasty , dirty, Pubic hair infested bathtub, Smelly funk, but see picture below of dried puke all over the mattress foundation where you could see it had just dripped all down the side of the mattress and nothing was done to clean it. The maid service only comes every other day, and when they did, they did not clean the towels I left on the floor for them nor did they even make the beds. RIDICULOUS!!! for some reason the staff kept placing people in the room adjacent to me every night even though the hotel was not full at all. and on one night from daytime until around 1030 Pm, they had dogs that would not stop barking. and nothing was done. the room is not safe, I could go on and on but there is not enough words allowed DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
10
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were Emeryville and Oakland Sat. afternoon and deceided to stay the night. Just drove by and stopped. The lady at the desk was super nice. She gave us a room facing the water. Its a little dated but very clean. Yes I would stay there again, room rates excellent for the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoyed a 3-day stay here. My good sized room had a lovely water view. There is easy access to downtown Oakland. A pretty walkway directly accessible from the hotel leads along the waterfront, there is a fishing pier adjacent to the property and a good seafood restaurant within walking distance. I received a pleasant greeting upon checkin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this motel for two nights. This motel was chosen due to very comfortable location for our plans to spend one day in San Francisco and after to go to Muir park and Napa Valley.
Actually we were surprised for quiet location. Our rooms faced a harbor with a lot of small white yachts. In the sunset the harbor looked even romantic! The rooms were clean; the coffee in the morning was an Americano one, but still ok. We got an wi-fi access for 2,99 USD. We felt save there because the motel area was checked by security staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I needed to rest and saw a Motel 6 right on the harbor in Oakland. It looked so attractive, I could hardly believe my eyes (knowing the general low standard of this chain). However, I booked a 'room with a view' and it was gorgeous - overlooking a lawn, a vegetable garden and pretty sunflowers. The price was very reasonable. The female manager was extremely helpful.

On the one hand I want to recommend it, on the other I want to keep it quiet!!

Room Tip: Room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This motel front desk, Ms. Chalet did not understood of Family Gathering. We booked two rooms
2 persons in each room and requested water front about 2 weeks advance through it's toll free.
On Sept 7, 2012 I and my wife checked in at 10.0o AM. Gave the lady our name to find a reservation confirmation as we did not think is necessary to print out from the computer. She, Ms.Charlet gave us one room but smoking then we walk back to changed it to a non smoking.
Too early to get another booked room for our friend which will arrive latter by air. She asked us to come back at 12.30 for another room. When we did she gave us another room at almost at the end of West corner for our late arrival friends which 20 rooms apart at the end of Estern
end.There were plenty of vacant rooms but she and her white Anglo male boss stood by her assignment. So if you were to be for family reunion is better of look at another nearby. This lack of customer sensitivity may be supported by higher up. Perhaps this establishment is for quicky sex or for convicted felon since it is in Oakland where as closed by red light district.
Another unpleasant for us that the booking price that Motel 6 confirmed by email was $280.76 for
4 nights each room since we are member of an AARP. When inquired Ms.Charlet requested the print out pretending that her computer could no accessed the reservation. T

Room Tip: Make sure print the reservation confirmation with you . And have front desk for billing that shows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A couple of days ago I spent the night , Rm 231. I got a awlful case of bed bugs. Ouch. Have made many attempts at contacting the manager. First time pleasant enough conversation but no help, had to refer to manager. Second time, another person stated that manager has just stepped out "someone will call within the hour.No Call that night. Attempting another call,they said "just a minute"than got disconnected. Made another call,finally talked with manager who indicated that the exterminator is coming" some time between 1-5pm. They will call me after that. Still awaiting for call. I guess the next phone call will be to the health department. In the mean time lots of calamine lotion, at least 28 welts.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 231 or any where near there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero

Address: 1801 Embarcadero, I-880/Nimitz Freeway at 16th & 23rd Avenues, Oakland, CA 94606
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oakland - Embarcadero is located at I-880/Nimitz Freeway and within a mile of the Port of Oakland Marina. California's beaches are 4 miles away. Relax in our hot tub. Guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero Hotel Oakland
Motel Six Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.