We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've booked, stay elsewhere!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oakland Airport

Hotel Oakland Airport
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Oakland Airport
Save
You added Hotel Oakland Airport to your Saves list
500 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst hotel I've booked, stay elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

1.5 hours to check in, the one totally apathetic desk guy said the computers had been down for a week!

No cable TV in the entire hotel, I got various answers to this one, but the staff both didnt care about the issue, and didnt know why. But it was clear it wasnt broken, there just isnt any!

No Internet access unless I wanted to pay more for the room ABOVE the internet connection fees! I was told wireless was spotty unless I was in a "premium room".

No COKE in the hotel bar for [--]. No way to bill charges to your room either.

No one working in this hotel cares, or even knows whats going on.

This is not a Clarion hotel by the way, it just changed hands.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

If your just looking for a place to crash before an early flight this hotel is fine. It's nothing great, but it's not bad either. The area isn't the best, but there is a Starbucks on the way to the airport if you want breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

I stayed at the Oakland Airport prior to a early flight in June. First of all, I remembered this place as a tired old Holiday Inn to be avoided. But I thought that since it changed over to a Clarion that it would have been renovated and be better. I was wrong. It is a motel with a 'tower'. I had to walk 1/2 mile to the ice machine only to find that is was broken, then wait 20 minuites at the front desk to get me some ice. Besides that, the place was run-down and not very clean.

I frequently stay and fly out of Oakland and am always dissapointed with the park-n-fly options compared to SFO. I've stayed at them all, and they are either unjustifibly expensive or dumps. Clarion Oakland is in the latter class. Though, if travelling out of SFO, the Clarion there is by far the best choice. Definately a nice place at a decent price.

I am still searching for the best place to park-n-fly in Oakland and will post it as soon as I fing it.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2005

This property is not a 3 star property. Poor level of maintenance and service turned us off, we would not repeat a stay at this property, there are better choices in the area and closer to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2004

Paid $50 which included free shuttle to airport.
For that price, it was well worth the price. I was not happy with the room--ground floor, door opened 5 ft from parked cars--so I was switched to a more remote location. Used the coin laundry-convenient mid-trip amenity. Restaurant was fine for a burger though not "fast." Staff was helpful .
Room was fairly clean and bed was comfortable. The toilet was not flushed and had unpleasant stuff in it; insufficient towels for anyone but staff brought more quickly. Sections of hotel felt isolated and possibly dangerous. I did not feel happy wandering around it at night--looking for laundry room. Its a bargain for a one night quick stop before the flight from Oakland but thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2004

A good night's sleep? Not Here !! The hotel has been updated a bit (you cannot tell by looking at the outside). The main problem for me was the older hotels/motels (such as this one) have the air conditioning units inside the room - this mean all night you hear the motor running (almost the equivalent to the sound of an engine running in the room all night) It tends to be warm in Oakland so there is no choice but to leave it on. The Ramada Limited next door looked much more updated with central air. The toilet paper is the thinnest I have seen and there were some runs in the blankets - not too attractive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2004

The Holiday Inn Oakland Airport is not a 3 star hotel. The registration desk at the front of the hotel had worn carpet, no bellman, and all the trappings of a typical motel. My room on the second floor had no elevator and because there was no bellman I had to carry the luggage upstairs myself. The room itself was adequate with a king size bed and 19 inch TV, but there were no extra features or special ammenities like ironing board or internet outlet that would justify a higher rating than 2 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#22 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakland Airport

Address: 500 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel & 6-story addition (1986) near Nimitz Freeway in east Bay Area, 2 miles from Oakland Int'l Airport (free transfer). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.