We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and caring staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8465 Enterprise Way, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and caring staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located by the stadium and the bart station. My family and I had a reunion there because we always dreamed of visiting Oakland/San Francisco bay. The area where the hotel is located is not very nice but it seems safe. Our trip was a success due to the convenience of being close to the bart and the hotel shuttle taking us back and forth to the station as much as we needed as well as taking us to the Oakland airport for no extra fee. I really liked that the staff where always in a good mood and I felt like they really care for me and my family. The drivers, the front desk ladies, the cooks, maintenance, you name it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    36
    23
    24
See reviews for
52
34
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Easy walking distance to the Coloseum and BART station, but they will take you there if you ask, and pick you up too if requested. Rooms were large and comfortable. Air con unit was a tad noisy but the cool relief was worth it. Lovely tidy, clean, modern bathrooms. Breakfasts were fantastic both in content and value: good selection of continental including heaps of boiled eggs, breakfast muesli-like energy bars. Stones throw from chain eateries: Dennys, Burger King, Taco King. This was out first time with the La Quinta chain but the Oakland operation gave us a very positive impression. Ridiculously good value for money. Professional and kind staff. Put simply I wish we had La Quinta Oakland in New Zealand as they would be appreciated and have many return customers I am sure

Room Tip: Enquire about transport to and from Coloseum, staff are happy to assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we have stayed here a few times and are always pleased. It is close to the events in the area, close shopping for any needs you have forgotten and terrific staff. Easy to get to the airport or BART with their guest shuttles and lovely to have breakfast in the morning .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

First of all let me say that the staff at this hotel was extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. I believe they are doing the best that they can do under difficult circumstances. Those circumstances seem to consist of a situation where either the individual management of this property or the corporate office of La Quinta has decided not to maintain this hotel at the level of other La Quinta sites. The result is that this hotel is far below the standard of other La Quinta properties where I have stayed.

The overall quality of the furniture and fixtures in the room was cheap and flimsy. Although the bathroom was very clean and the bedding also appeared to be clean, one of the chairs had stains on the seat and the toilet barely flushed. The room had only a small wardrobe instead of a closet; the television not only was not HD, it had the worst picture I’ve seen in years (severe ghosting) and the WiFi only worked in the bathroom. The furniture in the lobby was dirty and shabby ; although the breakfast did offer do-‘em-yourself waffles, the rest of the breakfast consisted of boiled eggs, toast, and cold cereal and there was only powdered creamer for the coffee. Riding the shuttle from the airport after returning the rental car the night before we left Oakland felt like quite an adventure, as the shuttle van appeared to be on its last legs; the driver had to place it in neutral at every traffic stop to keep the engine from dying. The interior of the van was dirty, the seat upholstery was battered and collapsed and the interior door handle was broken so that I had to exit the van by climbing from the middle seat through the front passenger door. Fortunately, the shuttle to the airport the following morning was somewhat newer and sturdier although it appeared to be a shared service that stopped at three other hotels in the area.

In summary, I reserved a room at this property based on past good experiences at La Quinta properties but I was very disappointed with the overall low quality of the physical aspects of the property, shuttle, etc. although, as I mentioned earlier, the staff were extremely professional and courteous. I believe the shabby state of this property is due to decisions by upper management or lack of budgetary support at the corporate level. I would certainly understand (and agree) if the management needed to raise prices to support the higher standards that usually characterize La Quinta properties. This would be better than disappointing loyal La Quinta customers who expect to receive higher quality than this property delivers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay near the Oakland A's Ballpark. We were delighted to find a LaQuinta near it and within walking distance.

The staff was friendly and efficient. Great room and quiet even though there were 2 Asian student groups that stayed at the facility at the same time they were placed on different floors so the guests on level 1 never heard them until the lobby was full at breakfast.

If we return to this area we will definitely restay at this LaQuinta

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

How shall I begin? The moment we walked into our room we were greeted by the stench of mold. Apparently, we were placed in a "handicapped room", meaning that the bathroom was handicapped friendly, as in it was practically a "rain room." Anytime someone took a shower, the whole floor in the bathroom was soaked, and the tiles had dark mold in between each tile. There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom, and not even a soap holder. There was no place to put your shampoo bottles/soap in the shower. It was practically a shower head sticking out of the wall, and the water went everywhere. In order not to have your clothes soaked you had to put them on the toilet top.

We were a group of four and they only gave us one wash cloth.

There also was no comforter or top blanket on the beds, only two flimsy sheets and a little blanket. Because there was no ventilation fan, the entire room became damp anytime someone took a shower. The carpet was damp and sticky, and the "free WIFI" was impossible to get up and running.

Because of this experience, we have decided to never use La Quinta ever again. It's the second time that we have been disappointed. Ya, we know that it's not a 5 star hotel, but it's not that hard to install a fan in the bathroom or bleach the floor.

We left this La Quinta, eager to go home, happy we didn't have to endure another night of the "mold cave."

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum

Address: 8465 Enterprise Way, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum Hotel Oakland
La Quinta Oakland
Oakland La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.