We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I needed a hotel in Oakland to avoid some bay area traffic for a morning meeting. My flight came in about 11:30 PM, and after a 15 minute drive from the airport, I was parked. Check in was fast and pleasant. My room was freshly remodeled and IMMACULATE. I travel a lot, and I don't think I've ever been in a more thoroughly cleaned room. The room layout itself was a little dated, but the furnishings, paint, fixtures, carpet were all new. Nice shower and a good bed, sheets and towels. Never heard noise while I was there.
Although breakfast was included, I only grabbed a banana. I did scope out the food and it looked like typical Continental fare. I didn't have a room with a view, but the water sides looked nice...more of a lagoon than the "bay" though. Checkout was smooth and easy. All in all a very smooth and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    137
    50
    29
    17
See reviews for
123
121
53
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in early June and loved it. Waterfront property, right across the coastguard island in Brooklyn Basin. Waterside trail was directly accessible from the patio my ground floor room.

Rooms are nice and specious. But nothing great about it. It has everything that you'd expect. Comfortable. But no wow factor.

If you are staying towards the end of the property, as in my case, room 158, wifi intenet was non-existent. Please choose a more central room. I was frustrated. However the lobby area had good wifi signal strength.

Breakfast spread was good. Alameda is only 5 mins drive with lots of eating choices. However there is nothing in the immediate vicinity (10 mins walking radius) of this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Completely RUDE managers and front desk people. Charged wrong credit card after asking them to charge a different card and they tried to say it was okay to do. Gave our room away because we "didn't deserve it because we didn't pay as much as someone else because we had a military discount." Talked down to us and talked down to the new girl and embarrassed her in front of guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Dustin-Laynee

Allow me to apologizing for the experience you had at our desk. The encounter you describe is not how we run our hotel and definitely not how we want to treat our guests or each other. If you have a moment please call me at the hotel as I would like to know more about the experience in order to make sure that it never happens again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Executive Inn for 4 nights, as it was recommended by our friend who was hosting a number of events over an extended weekend. There was a mix-up (or a misstep) upon our arrival - the room we booked was not available even though I had booked it way in advance, given a deposit, reconfirmed the night before, and alerted them that we'd be arriving from the airport late. There was no indication that we wouldn't be getting the Deluxe King Waterview room. In any case, the staff remained professional and did everything they could to get us to the correct room the next day. (The other King room they gave us for the first night was still water view but it was smaller and didn't have a solid wall between the bedroom and bathroom vanity area - not ideal.)

After that minor glitch, our stay went very well. All the staff, including manager Miguel T and various other employees, were welcoming, very accommodating and gracious. (By the way, when we called down to the front desk to get the internet code that first night, personnel who answered the phone seemed to know about our situation and apologized again, assuring us that things would be taken care of first thing when the manager arrived. Nice touch.) I'd read TA reviews about the staff and I was very glad that those glowing reviews were true!

We used the hotel shuttle several times (e.g., Jack London Square, Chinatown, BART station), which was great and I have to say, one of the reasons we'd chosen this hotel because we didn't have a car for the weekend. The free hotel shuttle is definitely a wonderful service - a great value and an opportunity to see parts of Oakland that we typically overlook.

Since the property is in the middle of renovations, I do hope they consider upgrading their so-called gym. It was a very small room with a treadmill, I think a bike, and multi-purpose machine. I couldn't imagine trying to work out with another person in the room - it was just too small with limited equipment and would get stuffy quickly.

Otherwise, the hotel was a good choice due to its courteous staff, fine breakfast, great shuttle service, free internet, and pretty water view. I would stay here again when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the hotel and staff. Staying in Oakland because our granddaughter is in the children's hospital. First stay was at another hotel but it was very poorly kept up. Moved to this hotel after the recommendation of hospital staff. Very clean rooms, nice breakfast in the mornings. Very nice staff. Walking along the water with a nice view. Definitely would stay again hopefully for a fun situation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Depending on why you are staying at this hotel makes the difference. If you need to be in the city, they have a shuttle to the local BART and it can be quite easy to get into the city. Unfortunately, there is nothing very close to this hotel worth noting. You need to either taxi or get a shuttle. If you work in this particular area of Oakland then this may be OK

There are two sides to this property and a sister property. We stayed on the non-renovated side as we didn't know any better. The renovated side is a world of difference from the old tired side we stayed at but I understand they are beginning to renovate this side too.

The water view is very nice in the evening although they charged extra for it. It should've been comped based on the poor shape of the rooms.

The lounge staff were quite good each and every evening. They also have a Steak and a Salmon BBQ dinner evening that is excellent.

I'm sure the reviews next year will be better for those staying after they finish the upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Besides the large clean rooms, excellent staff at the front desk namely Basihir, Enrique and Cameron this was an awesome stay. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Jack London Square and within 3 mile radius. Continental breakfast with nice strong coffee and eggs and sausage etc. We had a family gathering and this made the trip perfect. There is nice walkway along the water that you can ride a bike into nearby town Alameda or in the opposite direction to Jack London Square.
The view from our room was of the Oakland Inner waterway. Just perfect. I'll be back next time if there are any room available now that the secret is out.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view. We never used the AC as it cools down at night and we slept with the slider op...
See more room tips
Green Features: We saw recycling barrels everywhere. The grounds had beautiful flowers with butterflies and humming birds. Pool was heated with a wind guard for added warmth.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.