We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet, friendly & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, CA
1 review
“clean, quiet, friendly & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I booked a room here for my parents, who were visiting Oakland from a small town. They were so happy with how quiet this place was. They are small-town people and were expecting something less quite and comfortable than home. They loved the breakfast too. I was pleased to have found a solid hotel to put out of town guests (our apartment is too small to host). This hotel seems to mainly cater to business trips, so it's probably great for that too.

Room Tip: If you choose City Side, you'll have a view of the freeway and the Oakland hills. If you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    140
    53
    31
    18
See reviews for
125
124
54
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Staff always helpful and friendly, rooms nice, plenty of hot water in shower. It is a comfortable place to stay, and we usually stay here twice a year on visits to Oakland.
One change, not to my liking.....breakfast usually included bacon or sausage ....no longer, in a weeks stay only had sausage on one weekend day.

Room Tip: if noise bothers you, the bayside faces away from the freeway. The side facing the freeway does have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had to travel to Oakland for a family member in the hospital. From the minute we were picked up at the airport, to checking in to our room, to our departure, we felt at home. The staff is awesome. Truly can't say enough about everyone we met. Josh Bryan checked us in and kindly offered shuttle service to and from the hospital. Howie and his Nephew were a great end to the day. What a nice deal to have dinner right down the hall when you come back from a day at the hospital. A great dinner and great company! The room was exceptionally clean and neat. It is a wonderful place to stay. Thankyou to all at the Executive Inn & Suites. minne sue

Room Tip: we stayed water side patio. able to walk out in the grass. great coming from Minnesota
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose to spend a couple of nights here, so we could easily get to the Californian Zephyr train station, to travel to Denver. The hotel shuttle van to local destinations was very convenient - we were dropped at the BART station, and travelled into Fisherman's Wharf for the day, then caught a ferry back - what a delightful boat trip. Then we were collected at the wharf by the hotel shuttle van. We requested a room on the bay side of the hotel because of the view over the water. The continental breakfast was a good start for each day, and one evening we enjoyed great steaks cooked by the barman. The staff were very helpful with dining recommendations and assistance with a taxi to get us to the train station on departure.

Room Tip: Bayside for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear June,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit. You mentioned the ferry to San Francisco and I couldn't agree more. What a special and unique look at the Bay, the Port of Oakland and our new bridge.
Again, thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was a bit skeptical of the location of this hotel since my work is near city center. The staff was extremely gracious about getting me to where I needed to go anytime I needed to go. Doris was especially helpful.

Room Tip: I really did not use the restaurant or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Every staff person was kind, informative, and genuine...not only with customers, but with each other. Doris drove me to the airport early in the morning and started my entire day of travel with the best experience. She was informative and made the early trip a nice surprise. I appreciated the 3 nights at the hotel and the many shuttle trips the staff provided each day. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My grand-daughter (10 months) was having surgery at Children's Hospital, a few minutes away from this hotel. My daughter-in-law flew in with my grand-daughter and the hotel picked them up at the airport by shuttle. They also shuttled them back and forth to the hospital, before I arrived. After contacting ALL the other hotels in the area, we found this was the ONLY hotel with that convenient service. But that was not the only nice thing about this hotel. The hotel was an older one, but the rooms were nice. Nice bed, big TV, wet bar with micro-wave and fridge in the room, hot breakfast, and every night they offered a different dinner, for a very inexpensive price. The hotel is located on the San Antonio water canal - Port of Oakland, and we had a water view which was beautiful, and a nice place to walk and enjoy the boats, and ducks. If we ever go back to this area, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like a nice view, ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.