We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Elsinore, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awsome stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Room was great and very clean stayed 4 nights and did not regret a single moment.
See Howie at the bar for the best $10.00 steak dinner you have ever had.
We will only stay here the next time we come to the bay area.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
Green Features: Your choice on weather sheets are changed or bed made up only
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    140
    53
    31
    18
See reviews for
125
124
54
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and clean and I was able to rest after a long day at training! Thank you to the wonderful staff!! Parking was convenient and safe and the breakfast provided by the hotel was a great way to start my day!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor, nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked on-line through 3rd party. When I arrived, I was given a room on 3rd floor opposite the elevator bank. When I entered the room and opened the curtains, I realized that the room faced the 880 Freeway. The road noise was ridiculous. I went back to the front desk and asked for a room on the back side of the hotel, which faces the bay. My goal was to get away from the road noise, not to secure some fabulous water view. I was told that an "upgrade" would cost an extra $50 a night, but they would be able to give it to me for an extra $25 a night. It felt like a classic bait and switch. I started to get angry, but realized that wouldn't help my cause. The manager on duty, Josh, stepped in and realized he should try to appease me for some reason. He changed me to a room facing the water, but insisted that it would have to be on the first floor. There was no upcharge. The area surrounding the hotel is perfectly safe, but the neighborhood on the other side of the freeway is a bit shaky.
I was pleased with the way Josh handled the situation, and was perfectly pleased with my new room.
Overall, the rooms and the property are a bit dated. Everything was relatively clean, but decor was circa 1980's. The continental breakfast was decent. Coffee available all day and free newspaper in breakfast area.
The issue that dropped this hotel to 2-stars was when I noticed black mold growing on the ceiling in the bathroom. It was clear that there was a leak from the bathroom on the floor above coming through the ceiling, and mold had started growing. This is a very dangerous health hazard, and I was amazed that nobody had noticed this before. I reported the problem at the front desk when I checked out. The gentleman at the desk took it under advisement, but didn't seem overly concerned.
I will never go back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Scott
Thank you for 7/8th's of your review. Seriously we did take the room out of order and we dealt with the mildew issue you reported. We apologize that our team missed it. That is not how we keep our TripAdvisor rating so high. We'll do better.
Also to let you know we are just putting the final touches on our plans for modernizing our rooms. I expect you'll be extremely pleased the next time you visit.
Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Whenever we plan for a trip to Oakland/Berkeley/San Francisco, we stay here. I've stayed here 7 times now and every time it has been fantastic. They are very accomodating. The shuttle is great. We recently went to a concert and Enrique, our shuttle driver, was extremely helpful. He gave us all the information we needed in order to use the Bart and we used Bart to take us directly in front of the Coliseum. Didn't have to wait in traffic, as we saw that from the train. Poor people! We also take the shuttle to the ferry and go into San Francisco instead of staying in San Francisco (hotels charge for parking). Not only does it skip being in traffic over the bridge, plus the toll, I do not have to pay for parking in San Francisco and it's a really nice ferry ride and inexpensive too. Full breakfast in the mornings! Can't beat that. Free parking, almost unheard of anymore. Honestly, can't see staying anywhere else. Love watching the rowers in the morning on the water while eating breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Every year, I come here with my friends and I've never been disappointed. The rooms are spacious and roomy, and the view is really nice. I would definitely recommend getting the Waterview Rooms. It is very nice and scenic, great for pictures. This location has a courtesy shuttle to nearby areas, which is really great for us because we always take the local Bart or the Ferry at Jack London Square across to San Francisco. Definitely a money saver. The gentleman at the Front Desk (Frederick Wong) is always more than accommodating when we come up for our vacations. I always go to him for recommendations and I've never been disappointed. This year, he recommended all the wineries for us at our day in Napa Valley and it was excellent. Although me and my friends can sometimes be a little demanding, Frederick always tries his very best to accommodate our needs and we're very appreciative of that. The breakfast and coffee comes in handy when we leave early in the mornings and we just want to grab something quick. Would definitely recommend this property to all my friends and family and I plan on staying here for all my future trips.

Room Tip: Get the Waterview Rooms, really nice and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I wanted to spend a girls weekend in SF for my birthday, but due to a music festival many hotels in the city were fully booked or way too expensive. We were leary about booking in Oakland, but the price was right and we could take the ferry directly to pier 49. We were so pleasantly surprised by the Executive Inn & Suites and Jack London Square. The hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff is so friendly and the manager, Josh, had us laughing in minutes. The shuttle service to Jack London Square and the ferry station is easy to coordinate and free! Breakfast is great (& free) and the little patio on the water is a great place to enjoy it. There are fun restaurants and bars in Jack London square too. I think we found the secret to a great SF weekend on a budget. We will be staying at the Executive Inn and Suites again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I came here for my anniversary and accidebtally booked through travekocity. I then called the hotel and spoke with frederick and he explained the situation to me. I was thrn ablebto cancel my reservation and book directly with him. He took care of my room and out a bottke of champagne in my room and a welcome card. What a way to start my anniversary. He also planned my whole sf trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.