We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Okay Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

During our trip to see the America's Cup in San Francisco, we were told to stay at the Executive Inn & Suites in Oakland, CA and take the BART to San Francisco. Our two night stay experience was mixed. We had an incredible, huge, spacious, comfortable, quiet room on the water and just a wonderful, magnificent view. The staff were very helpful in getting us to and from the BART station, even when we missed the return stop. But we had to wait well past check in time because our room was not ready...were there no other rooms available? We were told ours was special and indeed it was. But were there no other special rooms? Special...no lamps or lights to read by except for the two nightstands, limited bath towels like two so a dip in the pool or the hot tub resulted in wet soggy towels for next day's shower, 50s motel style furniture in this incredible room with shower and jacuzzi and another bathroom!! Three telephones but one did not work. 2 TVs...wow, this could have been so much better instead of being average...

Room Tip: Don't ask for a special room as they have only ONE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSalesManager, Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear about your check-in experience. If the hotel is sold out we usually have a hard time granting early check-ins. However, we should always be able to check people in at 3pm. We usually never have any issues with check-in times, but If you had to wait past 3pm, I truly apologize.

When using our pool, you can always stop by our front desk to ask for an extra towel. This should have been communicated to you at check-in. I will bring this up in our next meeting to make sure we properly communicate this to all of our guests.

All of our rooms will go through a renovation this winter, so everything will be brand new and nicely furnished. I would be more than happy to welcome you back to one of our new rooms in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    168
    60
    35
    25
See reviews for
155
145
57
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was at this hotel for 3 weeks, I do not go on vacation very offten and have never been in this area, a women named Doris (I believe was her name) was wonderful. She gave me directions and helped me out throught my stay. I was very confused when I got there and she was very sweet and helpful. The hotel is great and I will be staying there again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This isa wonderful place to stay. Beautiful view,quiet and clean. My husband and I attended a wedding nearby, and Julio at the front desk was good enough to take our photo before we left the hotel. The front desk staff is terrific! We will gladly return in the future.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the water in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Couldn't find a place to stay in SF that didn't break my bank account and didn't want to pay for parking, so tried this place and was very happy I did. Celebrated my son's birthday and had a run planned in SF. Staff: very nice and accommodating. Drove us to the BART station about a mile away and told us to call them when we got back for a ride. BART ride was a mere 10 min to SF. No parking, no traffic, no hassles. The hotel itself: quiet, occasionally heard people walk in the hallway at night; had a room facing the parking lot, but was surprised at how quiet it was. ROOM: big, comfortable beds, so glad they didn't have icky bed spreads; clean & spacious bathroom. POOL & JACUZZI: I don't like swimming in cold water and this pool was very nice. Hot tub was almost too warm. It faces the estuary and there was a nice walkway for a stroll. Quiet and beautiful. Small harbor with a few boats. FOOD: breakfast in the AM was more than I expected! Waffles, hot and cold cereal, coffee, tea, toast, fruit, all included in the stay. RESTAURANT (Quinn's Lighthouse): take a short walk up the street and you'll find some old houses and a restaurant that is fun and good food, comfortable atmosphere & overlooking the harbor. Felt safe too. Not too many other things in this area. GPS'd a grocery store about 6 miles up the road. Yes, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: stayed on parking lot side, but surprisingly quiet. For a treat, ask for a room pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stay here recently on my trip to America. I stay in SF and I could not stay there as price was getting too expensive so we found this hotel. Great staff and service. The room was nice and very large compared to the room in SF. Price was half of what I paid in SF.

I had a well planned napa trip thanks to a young lad. Fedrick did a very good job in planning the day as we followed his whole day trip. Had a very nice lunch at v.Sattui. Even though the trip was far from napa, he knew the area which is always good.

Not much to do in Oakland however, but restaurants are ok.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for recommendations~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I come to the Bay Area. The staff is very friendly and accommodating! The shuttle service is superb and the drivers are always helpful as well as pleasant. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well situated hotel for trips into San Francisco. Lovely location overlooking the water. Great shuttle service to the Bart Station - just had to book your trip every day and then just ring when you're back at the station, the staff come to fetch you within minutes. Nice pool area, but the hot tub wasn't working which was a shame.
Excellent breakfust buffet, lots of choice, and coffee on offer all day. But I have to give a huge 'thank you' to Howie in the restaurant, who conjured up mouth-watering steaks on the bbq in the evenings! Honestly, I have never tasted steaks like them! They melted in your mouth! Don't miss them, if you have the opportunity to stay at this hotel. Even though there was no menu per se in the evenings, Howie cooked up a sensation for an amazingly reasonable price - $10 for a thick steak, salad and mashed potatoes - fab!
Would definitely recommend this hotel (but make sure you sample Howie's steaks.......)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
2.0 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#5 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.