We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Renovated Rooms!
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A welcoming place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is the place to stay when I fly in or out of Oakland. The service has always been great- helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to a suite - felt like a princess. In my travels often stay at places twice as expensive, but never this nice. The bathroom in the suite is the best I have ever seen in a hotel or suite. My daughter and grandson always look forward to joining - we love to walk along the boardwalk and visit Quinn's Lighthouse for a yummy dinner. They are looking forward to staying at Executive Inn before they fly out to visit me; they will take advantage of the ability to leave their car parked while they are away. Helpful shuttle to and from the airport. Go for the water view. Will definitely stay there when I have needs in the Bay area!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    134
    49
    28
    17
See reviews for
121
120
53
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was scrambling for a nice hotel to stay at in Oakland, and I ran across this hotel. I needed to book something fast, so I called in and talked with Fred. I told him my situation and my time constrains with checking in and out. He was very nice and courteous on the phone and was able to set me up with a beautiful suite. They have a excellent staff here, with customer satisfaction on their minds.

On the day of my check in, i received a really nice suite, pretty much superb. It was very big and accommodating. Everything was close to perfect, even had a small patio with a view of the water. It was really clean, very quite, and my suite just happened to be next to the fitness center, a great plus for me. Also, they have breakfast available in the mornings. Not a super great selection but enough to get me filled up in the morning and on my way to my activities.

This hotel is excellent, very clean, and with the friendly and helpful staff, this place definitely deserves great ratings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Fine service to pick up and drop at BART station, to get to/from San Francisco. Give ring and someone will be there in a few minutes.
Very nice towards the water front, but a little disturbing toward landside with traffic, trains etc.
Good parking facilities. Well equiped rooms.
Nice breakfast, but no restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed 7 nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. The rooms were clean, quiet, had a beautiful view of the Oakland Estuary and lots of ducks, and a full hot breakfast each morning. The location is right off of the Nimitz Freeway with easy access. Their free shuttle vans provide transportation to the airport and nearby shopping and restaurants. We look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Would never have stayed here but, read the rave reviews on it and decided to take a chance! Everything people had written about this place was true. Very clean, great free brkfst, husband went NUTS over the bar..nice people there to chat with..and, unreal steak which the bartender cooked right outside on the patio overlooking the water...it was like being at a friends house..instead of a sterile, anomimous hotel. Nice little shop for snacks etc, and a Starbucks a block away we walked to!!!
We would definitely visit here again.usually stay at the Claremont, but it gets expensive..so nice to have another tried and true alternative where we feel safe!

Room Tip: Nice view from second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
I am glad you appreciated our service and staff. We try to make you feel at home as much as possible.
The Starbucks and the other few stores, a block away, is very appreciated among our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here a few night while in the bay area visiting from Hawaii...We flew into Oakland international turned on the GPS and were at the hotel in 10 minutes...we were
in a suite in the separate building north on the building with the hotel lobby...check in was a breeze, our room request was fulfilled (top floor), and room was fantastic.

Yea you definitely want to be on the ocean side so don't be a cheap charlie and go for a regular room or book with an online travel website or you might end up on the noisy freeway ghetto side rather than the ocean side.

Our suite had a separate tub and shower, great view, and quite. Wifi is strong. Breakfast we tried both locations in the main lobby and the next day our lobby downstairs...more than enough to get you started for the day.

Its just a short hop over the bridge to SF, free parking at the hotel..

Room Tip: spend a little extra for a suite on the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have been staying at the Executive Inn since 1999. The EI only gets better every year. Trully a first class experience w/o the $700. per night price tag. Ritz-Carlton type service. Mark , the GM is an industry pro and understands all levels of providing a memorable overnight stay. Beautiful Bay views, afternoon wine bar and great breakfast. Tell your friends who visit Bay Area.

Room Tip: Top floor, Bay view to see the Bay lights. Dine at Quinn's Lighthouse near the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your continued support! I am glad you are returning to us and enjoying our hotel. Our goal is to have all of our guests share the same experience you do.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.