We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Picked the Executive Inn and Suites based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. They did not disappoint. We had reserved a Junior King Suite on the "water" side. At check-in we were given a choice of floors which was nice as we prefer a ground level room. That way we can just wheel our stuff in from the parking lot without delay or elevator hassle.
The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was probably the most immaculate we have ever encountered. Not even a water spot on the glass shower wall.
The only negative aspect was the amount/type of lights. Like most places today, they are trying to conserve electricity which results in some dim corners.
Also, not a fan of the water closet. Don't care that it does have a phone. I'm never that desperate.
Added bonus was that the wife hasn't stopped raving about how nice it was. I got some attaboys for my choice.

Room Tip: Like most other reviews, I would recommend the water side away from the non-stop freeway din.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    129
    47
    28
    17
See reviews for
117
118
52
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel because of the cleanness and great ocean views. They have a nice couch area on the second floor for the visitors to enjoy the ocean views. Will stay there again for our next trip to Oakland.

Room Tip: They charge $50 extra for a room with the ocean views. My suggestion is to get a regular room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked a few rooms for a weekend so we could spend some time with friends. The location was great! The rooms are wonderful and seem so luxurious for the price! We really enjoyed the continental breakfast/ create your own waffle station. The staff there is AMAZING. Dolores was absolutely the best, she did anything and everything we asked. The company even shuttled us into Alameda when the taxi never showed. THANK YOU for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Most other reviewers give this property very high marks, and I agree with them. But I would like to tell you what makes the Executive Inn special for me. We visit the Bay area twice a year and I have discovered how to cut my vacation costs way,way,way down. The Executive inn is located north of the Oakland airport and south of downtown Oakland. They offer free roundtrip shuttle service which in itself is a $60 savings in cab fare. Then they will gladly take you for free to the Oakland ferry terminal where you can take a beautiful 20 minute ride across San Francisco bay right into the heart of the city where you can hop on a trolley or bus to anywhere around town. No need to rent or park a car and no need to pay a lot more for a hotel room that's probably not as nice as Executive Inn. You can enjoy your day in San Francisco and be back in your room after dinner without ever getting behind the wheel, and save big bucks in one of America's most expensive cities in the process. Now that's a real deal!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the ones on the water side are quieter and offer a really pretty water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My stay at the Executive Inn was a good value. The staff was always on top of things, prompt courteous. The shuttle service was outstanding. Special kudos to Doris.
Although standard fare, the breakfast was appreciated. The hotel is kind of away from the action, but the room is equipped with refrigerators to store evening snacks or refreshments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Executive Inn & Suites is probably the nicest motel conversion I've seen. The rooms are very comfortable and the bed was amazing. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the bartender not only serves great drinks, but cooks one of the best steaks (and deals) in Oakland! The location on the waterfront is almost resort like and is very convenient to downtown Oakland or the Bay Bridge and beyond. This property is not only the best deal in Oakland, but a great find for something a little different than your basic chain hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHochstatter, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
I will let our bartender know that you appreciated his service and steaks.

I'm glad you found us to be very convenient to downtown Oakland and the Bay Bridge. Many of our guests stay with us instead of in San Francisco, due to the high prices in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was within easy reach of the Raiders stadium. Staff were friendly on arrival and helpful in terms of getting a taxi to take us to the game. We only stayed one night as the Raiders game was the reason for being in the area. The hotel is in a lovely location with great views over the estuary, it's right on the waters edge. The room was spotless, had a great balcony overlooking the water and was spacious and well equipped. It definitely had the biggest safe I'd seen. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice and not too hectic. The hotel is a little too out of the way to walk to other locations but the hotel does provide a shuttle bus which makes getting to and from Oakland much easier. Would definitely consider the hotel in the future, particulalry as an option when visiting San Francisco as it was excellent value for money and a little oasis away from the business of other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.