We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good, but don't expect to much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Executive Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overall Good, but don't expect to much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Wie stayed there for 2 Nights on a stop over. Choose it because of the tripadvisor recommendations.
Were welcomed friendly and got a nice room , they upgraded us to a water view.
The overall Impression: Looks a Little Bit outdated, but the room was clean and spacious.
Don't expect to much from The surrounding, that area around doesn't make an inviting Feeling, close to the freeway, Take into account that there is some congestion in both directions.
My First Impression when i saw The breakfast Plastics , i was a Little Bit concerned, but the food selection and Quality was very Good, Even fresh Self Service waffles and several coffee choices.
On departure we used the Shuttle to Oakland airport ,again friendly and on Time.
Good value for money, if you prefer to stay in the Oakland Area it's a Good Choice, for San Francisco i would recommend something closer, Even if it's more expensive.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    140
    53
    31
    18
See reviews for
125
124
54
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Had a suite facing the water, beautiful and very quiet. The room was very nice with plenty of space for 2 people, very good beds. Nice simple breakfast with all you need, very good coffee. The hotel has shuttle for the ferry and Bart-station.
Only one restaurant within walking distance, but that was a very nice one: Quinns Lighthouse (www.quinnslighthouse.com).

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the waterfront if possible. The other side is facing the street with heavy traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oly, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews, but I was disappointed. the dark carpet is very dirty. my toddlers socks turned black from walking around in the room. don't venture away from the hotel, it's a rough part of town. I would not stay here again. On the bright side, the breakfast was wonderful and it is very pretty out by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We take pride in our cleanliness and apologize that your floor was below standards. Please email me at mark.hochstatter@executiveinnoakland.com and let me know what room you were staying in. I want to make sure this does not happen to any other guests. We are very thorough with cleaning the rooms and I am so sorry that your carpet was not up to standards.

Our hotel is located with easy access to the freeway, in a safe area of Oakland. Unfortunately we do not have a lot of entertainment and restaurants in walking distance. That is why we have a free shuttle to many restaurants and entertainment venues nearby.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to allow us to show you the full level of service and comfort our guests have come to rely on at our hotel. Please feel free to contact me at any time directly at mark.hochstatter@executiveinnoakland.com, and I would be delighted to assist with making a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is an interesting property. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The bathroom is very nice Full tile, garden tub and full glass shower with a separate room for the toilet.
Yet it sits next to a Motel 6 and faces the interstate; only 100 feet or so from exit ramp.
Rooms are secure and it offers mini fridge and safe in the room.
On the backside, is a view of the water.
No restaurant but they do offer an above average breakfast included in the rate.
In my opinion, the operator of the hotel is trying to overcome the location with superior room features and in the end, gets credit for doing so.
This property has "no parties" in the room policy (good) but makes me believe this has been a problem in the past.
In the end an acceptable choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a water front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with all of its amenities and features. We are close to the freeway which gives travelers easy access to the hotel.
Our water view rooms are the most popular rooms, but the city view rooms is a perfect choice for the overnight business traveler, since it offers all of the amenities of a water view room, but for a lower price.
Again, thank you for staying with us and for giving us your honest opinion about our hotel. We hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I travel fairly frequently and Executive Inns & Suites is one of the best hotels I have found! Mike, Howie and the rest of the staff exude a feeling of "family" with wine and hors d'oeuvres on certain week nights and a potluck barbeque on Fridays. They are always happy to assist with everything from forgotten toothpaste to recommendations for a good restaurant. The views from the western facing rooms are reminiscent of a resort with city views. During the day sailboats may be seen and at night the city lights are reflected on the waters of the Oakland Estuary. It is relaxing and yet a few minutes from the city for work or play!
I can't choose all the dates I stayed there from the drop down below but I stayed one week-end a month for several months.

Room Tip: The suites building is the best and get the rooms facing the water. Otherwise there will be a freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed our customer service, and I will make sure to let Mike and Howie know they were mentioned. We put a lot of effort into our serving our guests and I am glad it is showing.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Hotel is not what you expect. From the front, it's tired, drab and not "Executive". The staff are almost mute, with little or no character/conversation. The hotel itself is in a rough part of the area of Oakland, and is around 30 minutes at best to get to San Francisco. The WiFi within the hotel is only accessible in the lobby, and not in the rooms. Traffic is pretty excessive and makes the journey quite tough.
I'd not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Executive Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your review, and for bringing to our attention your overall dissatisfaction with your stay. We were truly disappointed to learn that we failed to provide you with the guest experience that we pride ourselves with. We are known for receiving very satisfied guest reviews regarding our service and staff. It is upsetting to hear about your experience with our staff and we will make sure to bring it up in our next staff meeting.
The hotel is located right on the waterfront with unique views of the estuary, in a safe area of Oakland. All of our employees who commute to the hotel daily feel comfortable at all times, and there is a security agent present in our lobby during late night and early morning hours.

There are several ways of getting in to San Francisco from our hotel.
By car:
During midday it takes around 25-30 min to get to San Francisco.
By BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit):
The hotel have complementary shuttle service to the closest BART station (5 min away). The BART then takes 12-15 min to San Francisco.
By Ferry:
The hotel have complementary shuttle service to the ferry (5 min). The ferry then takes 15 min to San Francisco.

BART and Ferry are usually the fastest ways of getting anywhere here in the Bay Area, and are shuttle vans runs every half hour during the day.

Our WiFi is accessible in both lobbies, our business centers, and our rooms. I truly apologize if you could not connect to our WiFi in your room. We are currently in the works of updating our WiFi to increase internet speed and connectivity throughout the entire hotel. We believe it is very important to stay with technology and always be able to accommodate increased levels of internet usage and traffic.

Again, we are truly sorry about your experience. We always strive for your absolute satisfaction, which is reflected on most of our guest reviews. Please contact us directly at sales@executiveinnoakland.com and we can help you make your next stay more desirable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn and Suites

Address: 1755 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#4 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland's most unique waterfront hotel located in the heart of the Bay Area. Our location provides easy access to San Francisco, Alameda, Berkeley as well as the famed Napa and Sonoma Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Oakland
Executive Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.