We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Savings
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I book all my hotels through Priceline - Name Your Own Price. For my 80.00 bid, Priceline placed me in this hotel. After reading some of the reviews, I was very concerned and expecting the worst, but once the deal is sealed with Name Your Own Price, there is no turning back.

Our flight landed at 8:30am after a long red eye. After picking up the car, we arrived at the property around 10am. I was not surprised that they didn't have a room ready due to the early hour but I thought it was worth a try. The front desk person, Sabita, was very polite and told us that we should try back at noon and there would probably be a room ready for us.

We killed some time and came back around 11:45. Sabita had a room for us in the main building. She gave us a key, but the computer system was down and she was unable to print the sign in form. She said she would call when the computers were back up and I asked her if I could just come down in an hour instead because I didn't want the phone to wake my wife. She said it would be fine.

The room was fine. Nothing fancy, just a typical room. It had everything we needed. The bathroom floor is EXTREMELY slippery when wet!!! Use caution. The soap trays in the shower were stupid. There is no way for the water to drain, so the soap just sits in the puddle; unusable, in my opinion, so we just let the soap sit on the sill. The coffee cups are black ceramic, so it's difficult to know if they're clean. I prefer disposable paper or styrofoam cups. The heating and AC system was effective and quiet.

The hotel is not in a nice area, but the parking lot was well lit and fairly secure. I wasn't apprehensive at all about parking and had no problems during our stay. Also it is free.

The housekeeping staff was friendly and accommodating. They were quiet in the halls and did a great job.

The wifi at this hotel is useless. I called the desk and talked to Carmela. She could not have been more rude. She insisted that it was working and that the problem was my equipment. I gave it a few minutes and called again to see if someone could possibly reset the modem. I talked to a different person who said she would "make a notation". The next morning, I called the front desk and the person I spoke with said that the night shift had not passed the info on and that she would have maintenance look at it. 5 minutes later, it was back up. Unfortunately, the next night and all of the subsequent days it was either down or too slow to use.

On the second night, I left my key in my room and needed a new one. The person behind the desk didn't ask me for any ID or verification that I was even a guest. NOT COOL.

In summary, day shift personnel were very professional and competent. Night shift personnel were the exact opposite and a detriment to the hotel reputation. Carmela, who was a manager, needs some training in basic courtesy and her attitude reflects in the people who were working with her on her shift. If it were not for them, I would have rated this hotel much higher.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    70
    35
    33
    41
See reviews for
46
46
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Is our first family visit to Oakland, we were very please with this excelente hotel, the parking is free, the beds are real EXCELENT, the only problem is that the buffet is poor (egs, cereal, fruit, coffe), and they close the buffet at 09:00 hrs. so you must wake up early. But they have excelente staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is not nice. First off the computers were down and it took me 30 minutes to check in and I was the only one there. My reservation was not correct. TV was from the 60's. I guess the other one was broken or stolen off the wall. Carpet in the room was dingy and old. The only good thing was I didn't personally have to pay for the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you a room that was properly cleaned. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced when checking in as well. Thanks to your comments, we will be working with our front desk staff on this as well.
We do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Reserved a room for 3 adults and was sent to a room with one bed without warning or offering a rollaway. Carpet and wallpaper was worn and dirty. Paid a ransom to be "upgraded" to a room with two beds and a view of an outdoor pool that was falling apart. Crown molding in lobby looked as though it was ready to fall down, and desk chair and restaurant seating was torn. The only good thing about this dump was the airport shuttle, which we weren't given the option to sleep in either. Don't waste your money on this declining rat hole.

Room Tip: Top "executive" floor is a joke, along with the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding the room you were checked into. I would also like to apologize for the condition of the room you were upgraded to and I assure you this will be addressed accordingly.
We hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

For quick layovers this hotel is adequate. The front desk staff were terrible. The service gets 0/5 but the convenience to the airport and "budget" prices are the hotels saving graces. The room was clean but required updating. On check out the front desk staff was speaking on the phone to a friend and let us know as much... very unprofessional. If you are looking for service, don't stay here, you will probably be extremely irritated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014


At checking in the manager that checked us in was very rude, she went on to tell us that they were booked up, and if we don't want our rooms she could sell them to someone else at a higher price, then stood
There looking at us & said do you want your rooms or not!! I couldn't believe what I was hearing, I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights, I thought I would have been treated better then that, we had flown in and where all tired, we kepted the rooms, I wanted to just go somewhere else after being treated like that but it
Was late and felt like we had no choice. We stayed out back in a different area then the main Hotel, the area is not very nice, my family & I did not feel safe & it
Was clean but smelled old. I would not come back and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We aim to consistently deliver a courteous and professional check in and stay to our guests and I would to apologize for the lack of service you received. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and I would like to assure you that these issues will be addressed accordingly.
I We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
Sincerely,
Carmela Royce
Front Office Manager
Red Lion Oakland International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

They were friendly, attentive and I felt I received more than the hotel rate might suggest. I definitely recommend staying here. The complimentary shuttle to the BART station made getting to our meeting in S. F. across the bay super easy (they even sent the shuttle when we called after returning to San Leandro on the BART). The only thing I missed was some kind of bench out front when waiting for the shuttle to arrive ... please ... :o) ... I would love to stay there again. The ice machine on the 6th floor makes a noise like a distant drum, which I am sure they can fix, and the waiter at breakfast didn't listen at all when I gave my order, but changed it promptly.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony was a nice option. I recommend asking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.