We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service from Marguerite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Free Night Offer
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible service from Marguerite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Your hotel, and every person in it, were amazing during my trip. Except for your front desk person Marguerite. Unfriendly from the time she greeted us, to completely rude and unhelpful when we found out our reservations got mixed up. She acted like it was our fault, did not apologize for the mess up, did not offer us alternate accommodate because of the mix up, and was just rude to the core. She should not be in customer service at all, or work with the general public. Shame on her! Shame on Red Lion Hotel for having her as a staff member.

Room Tip: Don't let Marguerite check you in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    29
    26
    37
See reviews for
33
36
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The place is quiet and the beds are comfortable. There are no shortage of pillows and it is cheap. However. The surrounding area is questionable and we found toenail clippings on the floor. When we told the morning desk clerk, she laughed until I showed her pictures. Then she said she would send housekeeping up. But she didn't. Then I went back in the afternoon and they just kind of apologized awkwardly. I would not recommend staying here despite the Red Lion in Seattle being pretty nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room on Priceline for very cheap, and for the price I was very impressed. The room was great, with a comfortable bed and big balcony. The service was not, but for a quick stay or one where you don't need service I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped there for two nights on our road trip to visit San Francisco. The area is a bit sketchy, so watch out for your car, they don't take any responsibility for what happens in the parking lot. Also the company on the floor was a bit shady.

The room was small, musty and not very clean. Houskeeping failed to clean it for our entire stay. The AC looked and smelled like it needed thorough cleaning. Technically no WiFi available. For the price I would expect something better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the lack of cleanliness in your guest room. I would like to apologize that our staff did not clean your room during your stay. Please be assured that these issues will be addressed accordingly with our housekeeping department.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadero, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Needed something fast and close to airport. Room was ok. Internet WiFi was terrible. Never had a reliable signal. Bathrooms were not clean. Bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet.
Average experience, expensive In comparison.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am a commuter ( I live in Houston but work out of Oakland.) I used the shuttle with no issues. Everyone has been polite even at 12a. I checked in and out with the same front desk crew. The room was clean, fresh towels and the ac worked fine. The breakfast/server were good. Even the shuttle drivers were nice. Super close to the airport. I love it! One non major issue is i got a room near the busy street. You can hear motorcycles and large trucks faintly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overall, decent hotel to catch a plane from, but communication was poor on getting the shuttle from BART to the hotel on a cold, rainy night. Was told shuttle would arrive 10-15 minutes. Got there in 10, waited 15 more, no shuttle. Called and they said the shuttle had been by but we weren't there and that it would be another 20 minutes. They could have communicated better and taken some responsibility. Felt blamed. Lastly, we ended up with what we reserved in spite of that they lost our reservation. Rooms were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Loews Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.