We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No problems!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am a commuter ( I live in Houston but work out of Oakland.) I used the shuttle with no issues. Everyone has been polite even at 12a. I checked in and out with the same front desk crew. The room was clean, fresh towels and the ac worked fine. The breakfast/server were good. Even the shuttle drivers were nice. Super close to the airport. I love it! One non major issue is i got a room near the busy street. You can hear motorcycles and large trucks faintly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmulder21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overall, decent hotel to catch a plane from, but communication was poor on getting the shuttle from BART to the hotel on a cold, rainy night. Was told shuttle would arrive 10-15 minutes. Got there in 10, waited 15 more, no shuttle. Called and they said the shuttle had been by but we weren't there and that it would be another 20 minutes. They could have communicated better and taken some responsibility. Felt blamed. Lastly, we ended up with what we reserved in spite of that they lost our reservation. Rooms were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel is very convenient to Oakland International Airport and near the freeways. The room was comfortable and pretty quiet knowing the airport was very close. Front Desk staff was professional and friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is set up with multiple buildings, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

When you can't get someone to answer the phone when you're calling from the airport for a shuttle pick up, you know it's not going to be great. Not a very customer friendly hotel. The staff barely recognizes that you're there. Having said that, after having to call 4 times for a menu, the Asian salad was really great and the avocados were super fresh. The bed is very comfortable, my wifi works fine. I'm not experiencing the noise on the 3rd floor that others mentioned.

So, for a quick business in and out near the airport, it's perfectly fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Rooms were good for the price. However, we were there on business and although the wi-fi was free it did not work, nor did the wired connection in the room. Made it a little hard to do business. We were there 3 nights and had to get our room card reset each day, what a hassle after a long day of work. The vacant room next to one of my team member's alarm went off at 4:15 in the morning and kept goin. Notified the desk, said they'd resolve and next morning it went off again. Finally, they have the WORST bartender ever. Don't order anything more complicated than beer, wine or something straight with ice. Also, their bar bill is based on some ponzi scheme set up that is nearly unreadable and by the end you don't save anything during happy hour. Neither I nor anyone on my team will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for providing this valuable feedback so that we can address these areas with our staff. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to have a poorly run bar. We apologize tremendously for the experiences you encountered during your stay and we hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I chose this hotel for proximity to airport and rate. An older property, but the rooms are fairly updated and clean. I had a quiet room at the end of the hall on the 4th floor. I don't think there was anyone staying around me. Close to lots of restaurants and fast food places. Less than a mile from the airport which made catching an early flight a piece of cake. Free parking but not a lot of it. Staff was friendly enough although I didn't see much of them. There is a resaurant off the lobby that I didn't use. Also a work out room and meeting/business facilities that I didn't use.

Room Tip: I think higher floors are quieter - away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KnowsWhatSheLikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment I arrived and saw airline pilots checking in I knew I would at least have a clean room. My king sized room for 10 nights was the right size, and had a very cozy bed. I will say being in the front of the building was not ideal as the main road and the Harley store generated a great deal of noise.

The WiFi was adequate for web browsing, but was way too slow for VPN, you tube, Netflix, ABC, or facetime. You will have to use your 4g hotspot for any of those.

I enjoyed the restaurant and quickly became addicted to the Blackened Ahi sandwich. There are not too many choices on the menu but there were enough to satisfy me. I am in no way a food snob.

The service was touch and go. Housekeeping did a great job. The manager was super nice and I can not say anything but positive things about the shuttle bus drivers. They were polite, informative, and picked me up at the BART whenever I called and were quick to do so.

Really my only two complaints with service were a front desk clerk named Donna who misplaced a package delivered to me that was time sensitive, never answered me direct about my questions, and in general didn't seem to know what she was doing any time I interacted with her. The other clerks were more than helpful and went above and beyond to find my package for me and to answer my questions. In the end it the situation with my package was comical because Donna had thought it was a box of key cards and put it in their stock. It was an annoyance but the other staff helped fix her oversight.

Issue 2 was that my toilet was broken the whole trip and ran constantly. They offered to change rooms but after a while it became like white noise and I didn't mind. The manager was very apologetic and offered me free breakfast in exchange for the trouble. It wasn't a huge bother other than I knew water was being wasted. Some nights I would shut off the water as a courtesy to them and the environment.

Aside from Donna and the toilet issue, I was very satisfied with my stay and would gladly stay at the red lion again. I would probably request a quiet room over bed choice, but if I'm in the area this would be my first choice.

I've stayed at the Hilton across the street and it was musty and dank. If cleanliness is paramount on a budget, you can't beat the Red Lion Hotel...

Just hope Donna isn't the one manning the desk.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#14 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing