We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakesale Betty

Bakesale Betty
5098 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94609-2014
510-985-1213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 64 Bakeries in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Bakeries, Pub
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The fried chicken sandwich, what else?!! Simple concept, but so well executed that you will understand the long line (which moves quickly) once you take a bite. I like a little hot sauce on mine, but I think the really fresh slaw they use is what makes this baby sing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    19
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Chicken sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

That sandwich is a monster but oh so good - fried chicken with spicy slaw - worth waiting in line for. I have not tried anything else though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One item menu...Great Sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I finally got my chance to visit Bakesale Betty's today. All I can say is...pretty amazing! It was quick getting in and out. The sandwich...perfect crispy chicken, wrapped in a fresh baked roll, covered with amazing slaw that has just the hint of heat...just enough for me who usually takes every Mexican salsa mild. My friend and I sat outside at the ironing board...and took it all in. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“There's a line for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yummy. excellent food.... you order at the counter, take your goodies outside and eat on an ironing board. It's fun. The food is made on site. there are some funky shops around to wander through. Sagrada is a beautiful shop centered on sacred arts and is on the same block.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bakesale Betty addicts us all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I hesitate to write a great review for Bakesale Betty; the lines are long enough now! They have created the world's best chicken sandwich (also offered in tofu and salad). They're opening hours tend to slide around and they close when they run out of chicken but I'm willing to endure it all for the fabulous sandwiches. They also make great cookies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakesale Betty also viewed

 

Been to Bakesale Betty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakesale Betty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.