We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Jack London Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Jack London Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel for a week in August. The location is perfect. It is a short two block walk to the square, and is surrounded by great cafes, restaurants and bars.
This is not a modern hotel - think a california motel from the 60's, BUT is is extremely clean and well kept up. The pool area is very nicely done with ample seating, the area was spotless. There is also a very good diner type restaurant attached that did a very brisk business. We had breakfast there,a nd it was delicious - and huge.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was very, very clean, as were the common areas.
We were very pleased with this property and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    57
    22
    15
See reviews for
27
54
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

OK, it's on old hotel near the (slowly) revitalised Jack London Square in Oakland' across the bay from downtown San Francisco. Expectation was not high, but arrival by the BART (12th St, Broadway) and a 10 minute walk (or as found out later, a free B shuttle down to intersection of Broadway and 3rd), found a tidy hotel. Check in was quick.

First floor has a nice pool, clean and well maintained. Arrived at room on second floor and was greeted by 2 double beds, small round table and chair, work table and roller chair and a tall unit with TV. ApThe room was not big so a little squeezy with 2 beds and furniture. Basin and shower/toilet to the rear of the room. Where is the luxury? It was the towels...nice and thick and fluffy, every day. Usually with older hotels one expects well used, thin towels but not here! Another unexpected luxury was the aircon unit temperature controls works very well - bonus!

Only small complaint is that there were no easily accessible powerpoints near the work or round tables. There are powerpoints next to one of the beds however.

The Buttercup Grill cafe right next door served good food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are quite a few good eating places nearby (within 100-odd metres) including ribs, steak, seafood, and sports bar. Further along are Cambodian, Japanese, and Peruvian restaurant.

All in all, The Inn at Jack London Square is a well serviced hotel and good value for money.

One last thing, if you are walking down from the BART station at night, might look a bit dodgy, especially under the bridge section but it is well lit and had no problems.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms facing out back towards a sports bar that hosts karaoke and parties. Very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My room was clean, quiet, spacious for the $$. The hotel pool area was surprisingly well appointed, with fresh towels and appealing lounge chairs. Location is mixed but that's Oakland. "Adult novelty" store right around the corner but a gentrified area w great deli/cafe on the next block.
One negative: needed early a.m. cab to airport and night clerk who booked it clearly had some kind of "arrangement" with the guy who picked me up. He tried to charge me double at airport and immediately backed down when I confronted him

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The prices in San Fran are not cheap so we thought we'd save some $$$ by staying here (it was about half the cost) and using the ferry to get to the city.

Getting here was a simple BART trip from San Francisco Airport (no changing) and a ten dollar cab ride.

Hotel is in a nice area adjacent the ferry. Literally a 2 minute walk from the front desk. The ferry runs frequently and is about $6 to get you to Pier 39. It has refreshemnts on board so you can grab a coffeee on the way over and a beer or a wine on the way back. Takes 40 minutes and is a nice trip in itself.

The hotel was pretty good. Very good staff on the desk. All staff very friendly. Room was a decent size and comfortable. Had a gas heater if the weather got too cold. Nice bar alongside which is not directly owned by the hotel, but you can take drinks back to your room with no problem. Great barman who gave us a few tips for visiting the City.

Only problem was that a train runs about a block back from the hotel (there's a container terminal just up the road which doesn't sound very romantic but you only see it on the ferry - and it actually looks quite nice at night. Or maybe that was the beer). The train runs across the streets behind the hotel and sounds its horn at every intersection. If you're a light sleeper I'd recommend ear plugs.

There wasn't meant to be a shuttle service on the morning we left but they said what the hell, and arranged a lift to the BART for our trip to the airport anyway.

If you want to hit the San Fran bars, clubs and restaurants in the evening then you'd probably need a hotel that side of the Bay. But if you just want to spend the day there and do the sights, this is a great option.

By the way, there's a Farmer's market alongside the ferry terminal on the San Francisco side and that's worth a visit. Good place for breakfast in the morning and a top quaility wine bar that was buzzing when we went there one evening. Good selection of beers as well. Great place to sit and wonder about which ferry you're going to catch back. One for the road?

Room Tip: Away from the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Us three girls shared the room for three nights. We didn't feel crowded and we slept well. The google directions were a little off. It had us going around the block in the end. The restaurant next door was great and they made my friend a meal not on the menu! It was close to China Town and we had chinese food everyday some place new. It was a nice adventure, Nice Jazz music just around the corner was fab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First of all if you are planning on visiting San Francisco for sightseeing the best airport to use is Oakland for two reasons: flights tend to be cheaper and you don't have to worry about weather closing the airport (San Francisco). Secondly you will get rooms for half the price you would pay in downtown San Francisco. The best thing about the Inn at Jack London Square is the location. You are two blocks from the Ferry to San Francisco and 9 blocks (easy walk) from a BART station. It was convenient and inexpensive to get into San Francisco. We took BART from Oakland airport for $4.75 each to the 12th st. Oakland station and walked to the hotel. Compare that to a $40 cab ride. The hotel has a very pleasant and friendly staff. We arrived early and they did everything to get us in our room as an early check-in. Try the Oakland Grill down the street for breakfast or lunch. The Buttercup next door is also good.
Now the only negative is the rooms. They need upgrading. No fridge or microwave. And per previous review there was poor internet connection (I was on a Skype meeting). However, the rooms are clean. There is a large pool in the central courtyard and the rooms face toward this courtyard. I like to sleep with the window open so since there is a walkway right outside the window take a sliding aluminum window lock with you for security. I would stay here again next time we come up to the Bay area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the 2nd floor have a private balcony with patio furniture facing the pool. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pleasantly pleased with our stay.

I will say that the staff is very professional - from making the reservation, to the front staff, to the cleaning staff.

The parking, on site, was a great benefit!

Our room was contemporary in its decor.

The pool was a little loud, at bed time (10pm on a Saturday night), but I do believe it was the staff that came to tell the swimming guests to keep it down. And, the guests were very kind and did so, accordingly.

I believe there was coffee in the room (we had to leave early the next morning, so we didn't have time to make it).

It would have been nice to have a few items for breakfast; however, I know that involves cost, and personnel.
Besides there were quaint coffee/pastry shops right next door and within the block.
And, it's possible, that there was breakfast, and we missed it while rushing to our appointment the next morning.

All in all, we were pleased.
I wish the Inn the best, and the city of Oakland.
There are a lot of nice people there.





Regarding the City of Oakland:

While visiting, we found a lot of people that take pride in Oakland, and we wish them well.

It is too bad that, because of the behavior of some, their behavior gives Oakland a bad rap.

Our family found that there were a lot of industrious, kind, hard working folks.

It would be great if more of the people that lived there, would take pride in their City.

The most negative thing we noticed about Oakland was all the trash by the roads.
I'm sure that civic, community, church groups, schools and businesses already volunteer to pick up the trash by the road.
Maybe there is so much - that it's hard to keep up.

We wish the police department well, also.
We were talking with an individual that said there had been cuts in the department.



Also, we ate dinner at a Mexican restaurant, Gusano's - great food.
The Farmer's Market was lovely, also.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Jack London Square

Address: 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Jack London Square 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Jack London Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Jack London Square Hotel Oakland
Hotel At Jack London Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Jack London Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.