We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many pleasant stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Jack London Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Jack London Square to your Saves list
The Inn at Jack London Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
San Diego
Level Contributor
105 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Many pleasant stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Good value here. Close to Oakland Ferry landing to get to SF. Ask for Garden room, much quieter, not on the street or central courtyard. Very friendly and courteous staff. They offer free parking on site. AAA discount, spacious and clean rooms. Have stayed here many times and will continue to go there. Shops at Jack London are within walking distance and good restaurants. Beer Revolution is across the street. If you appreciate good craft beers, definitely a must.

Room Tip: Garden room, facing courtyard, not street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaliko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I decided to take a short trip and watch some some jazz at Yoshis which is about 1 block away from the hotel. The hotel was recommended to us by the jazz club.
It was very convenient and located not to far from restaurants and the jazz club.
The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. the restaurant downstairs serves great breakfasts in large portions.
we will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gorn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed here and it was gross! I have been bit all over and I'm not sure what to do about it. I took several pictures and will be posting them soon. DO NOT STAY HERE!
There is a train nearby and it's VERY LOUD

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 28Frog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momi1, General Manager at The Inn at Jack London Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
The Inn at Jack London Square under went an extensive renovation. We are proud in our housekeeping practices and room maintanence. Our property has not received any complaints of this nature.
We stand behind our product and under no circumstances would we allow our room to be sold in unsatisfactory conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had many problems with this hotel. The first problem we had was that we could NOT find a parking spot because the hotel shares the lot with the nearby restaurant. After that was resolved, we were given a room on the 1st floor across from the pool (all of the rooms open onto an outdoor courtyard with a pool). It was very small and musty with stained carpets. It was 10 p.m, and after a long day's drive, we were all tired and just wanted to get a good night sleep. The room beside us was quite noisy so at about 10:45 p.m. we finally called the front desk. After that was done, the train came by (whistle and all!) and let us know it ...every HALF HOUR!. All was fine until we were woken up by a women talking on her cell phone outside of our room at 7:30 a.m.. She wasn't speaking loudly but because the walls are so thin, we could hear everything that she was saying... We got out of bed, opened the door and asked her to move and thankfully she did. So, our first night was pretty restless. The next morning we tried to find another hotel but eveything was booked, so we stayed out on the town as long as possible since another night in the hotel wasn't really appealing. We returned and hoped it would be quiet. However, at about 3:00 am we were awoken again from the adjoining room on the other side of us. We went to the front desk (instead of calling because we thought that this might wake the kids) and they sent up a security person. About 30 minutes later, the same group started up again. We went to the front desk again and they security went to speak with the group again -- too late, though, the kids woke up! So, it wasn't until about 4:30 am that we were asleep again. When we got up the next day, the manager wasn't available to speak with us. The front desk staff said that they would inform the manager of the issues that occurred overnight but we never heard from them. We had to spend one last night in this dump and when we checked out we tried to speak with the manager again. And again, we were told that the manager was unavailable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 155004Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed one night and had a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price. It is close to Jack London Square and downtown. I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel is fine. It is relaxing and the rooms are nice. The price is good value for what you get in return. Oakland is a dodgy city, but Jack London Square seemed to be danger free.
The major problem I had with this hotel is that they charged me twice for my stay and I am still waiting to be refunded. Initially I booked through another website and paid in full for 4 nights. Upon arrival we had decided to stay another couple of days. On the third the day I rang the front desk and explained that we would be staying another two nights and that I will be paying in cash. I wanted to inform them of this as I needed the money that was on my credit card for something else. I was told it was no problem and that I could settle everything at check out time. On the morning of check out I went online to internet banking to check the amount that was still on my card. It had been deducted a similar amount that added up to the extra two nights and the room service that accumulated over the 6 nights stay. I rang my bank home in Ireland and they confirmed that my card had been charged by the Inn at Jack London Square. The guy at front desk said we could pay with cash and that the card will be refunded with 48hours. I was upset that my card had been charged when it was agreed that I would be paying in cash, but we were told that the money would go back on the card within 48hours. It has been 96 hours and payment has not been refunded. It has left me and my friend really stuck for money on our trip. The difference of $277 is a lot for us. It means we have not been able to eat out in restaurants, instead we eat in Burger King or Subway. I told them I would be paying in cash. They are completely incompetent. The hotel should have informed me before charging my card. Any other hotel I have ever stayed in have always informed before charging my card. If it comes across that I am bitter about what happened, it's because I am. Be very careful with these careless people. I sent them an email explaining how I felt and I got no apology.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

There were two gentlemen I felt actually did their job right. Everyone else including the staff at the restaurant just next door provided some of the worst food and service I have ever experienced. They pretty much attempted to strip you of your money. I work in customer service and the "customer comes first" is now at all a propriety to these people. The room was clean and hotel was close to Broadway and that's about as good as it gets.. I would think twice before staying here.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#18 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Jack London Square

Address: 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Jack London Square 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He Inn at Jack London Square is a year-round retreat from the conventional routines of every day life. Located in downtown Oaklands historic Jack London Square, and not far from the San Francisco bay, this Oakland hotel offers 100 contemporary rooms offering privacy in a tranquil setting surrounding a beautifully landscaped courtyard. We invite you to visit and become acquainted with the quietly refined pleasures that make the Inn at Jack London Square one of the finest hotels in Oakland California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Jack London Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Jack London Square Hotel Oakland
Hotel At Jack London Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing