We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get your money's worth and likewise be content” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Breeze Inn Oakland to your Saves list
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE UPGRADE TO KING BED
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Sacramento, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“you get your money's worth and likewise be content”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

i stayed in room 146 this time, and for $40 bucks a night- it was more than good enough.
i do long drives as part of my business and it has been very helpful to find small hotels like this could be at par with higher rated ones but actually just lack free breakfast or better yet
saves you a ton of dough helping you sleep better.
However i would recommend some of the staff to try and be more accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    17
    12
    39
See reviews for
31
34
23
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Honestly, Horrible! Room stinks, Staff was rude, people loitering around room doors, people sitting on your car like it's theirs, towel was dried to a crisp, and there was only 1 towel, no wash cloth, soap was opened, remote was not in room...!!!! All in one night!! When I ask for a wash cloth, another towel for my wife, and a remote, the lady asks me for cash to rent the remote, and said there is towels in the room. She actually argued with me about the towels! I refuse to stay here. The entire place needs to be condemned. The smell is like a very old home. I advise you to stay elsewhere. Cheap, yes. And with cheap, comes terrible service and a poor place to lay your head. The pillows are so flat, most likely at least 5 years old. The only nice thing was the low price, but you learn quickly why it's so low.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

When we got there, I felt I stood in the middle of junkyard. The building is old and the room is very small. Everything is cheap except the price. I didn’t feel any bay breeze and smelled horrible. Also, this location is so noisy and unsafe.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

It was clean, staff was nice, alot of lotterying though and a very scary neighborhood!! the site made it look much nicer. Room had no phone and the door lock did not work!!!!! I was scared and paranoid all night thinking I was going to get mugged or something terrible. The next day I noticed the parking lot was filled with other Raiders fans, wish I would have peeked out the window at night I would of felt more at ease, Speaking of window a curtain was missing!!!! I hung a sheet.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The one thing I would say is the staff was friendly. This is a horrible neighborhood and it is not safe to walk anywhere. The room door did not lock in our original room and was small. Second room was even smaller and smelled horrible. Bathrooms had been redone recently but they only gave 2 dishtowel sized towels and one wash cloth. It was bad enough that the first night we slept with clothes on, on top of covers. We actually had a room for 2 nights but left right after the game on Sunday and drove home rather than stay another night. The neighborhood is so bad that at least Motel 6 had security on site that you had to check in with in order to get in the property. I can see why this motel is cheaper than Motel 6. Very bad! Saw some of the other reviews and I wonder were these people have stayed that they would think this was anything above a 1 star????

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Do not stay here. Absolutely filthy room. Gap in the door was huge enough for the rats and cockroaches to get in. The room smelled so bad. The pillows and bedding were not washed in months maybe years. Honest to God I am not kidding. They must have given us a room where the hookers go. The bathroom looked like it was 100 years old. No toiletries or towels. We were there for the Raider game. It was the only hotel with a vacancy. We left our luggage in there and went to the game. We walked there which is a very scary thing to do in that area. Lots of noise, bums and weirdos. When we came back from the game we grabbed our luggage and called a taxi to come pick us up. We were not even going to stay here. Hell No. We found a hotel in Jack London Square. YES

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

The hotel is waling distance from the coliseum, but thrugh a rough neighborhood, do not do it at night!

We asked for a non smoking room, but it smelled horrible (like stale smoke), and had ashes all over the floor and chair. There were gaps around the door, and it was very cold in the room, even with the heater on. It appeared the door was kicked in recently as well.

Spend an extra $20, and stay in the main hotel cluster near the coliseum, much safer and cleaner. This place is rundown, and in a bad area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Breeze Inn Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Address: 4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Breeze Inn Oakland 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. We're conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Breeze Inn Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.