We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Excellent Staff, Nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Save Saved
You added Bay Breeze Inn Oakland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value, Excellent Staff, Nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial day Weekend. Felt like we were staying in a high end hotel. Rooms were nicely appointed. We also got free upgrade to king bed even though we reserved a queen sized bed. Staff was very accommodating and friendly, the General manager truly concerned with your stay. Would definitely visit again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    10
    11
    34
See reviews for
23
30
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want an affordable and clean place to stay, the Bay Breeze Inn is just 10 min south if San Fran where I do business. Rates were cheap, and unlike some places in San Francisco parking was free and gated. Check out room #105, my advice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The absolute worst place I have ever stayed! I recomend you runn from this one!Room had pizza box on table with remains left to mold, used bar of soap on sink, hair and whiskers all over counter and sink, bloody bandaids in tub, on a horrible smell that never went away!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Breeze I, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Seems like you must have inadvertently looked at a room which was not clean yet. The check in time is 3pm and you might have seen a room which was yet to be cleaned by the housekeepers prior to 3pm. We maintain prestige cleanliness in all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a high-value motel at very low cost, including a lower-cost weekly rate. I've stayed
at Bay Breeze Inn for weeks at a time. It is centrally located, including only blocks from High Street into beautiful Alameda with its large South Shore Shopping Center, beaches, etc. It
is very friendly, run by a three-generations family. The nearby freeway's noise can actually
be soothing at night. The bathroom has a circular partially-enclosed shower unit that is
especially nice. In summary, you get everything you need and more without the frills and higher costs elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Breeze I, Public Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a great value for just a place to sleep after long days of touring SF and wine country. We drove up from LA on the Pacific Coast Highway and had a tour booked the next day in SF so needed a convenient place to zip into the city. Although the immediate neighborhood looks very sketchy, the hotel is right off of the freeway and better yet, is just one mile from the BART train station so we didn't even have to drive in. The parking lot is secured so we were not concerned about theft. We were concerned about freeway noise, but our room was on the street side so heard nothing from the freeway. However we did hear the early morning trains sounding off as they approached the station. Our room was very clean and beds were very comfortable, one of the best I've slept in. My primary complaint is that there is no coffee available either in the rooms or in the office so we had to grab it at the gas stations down the street. Overall a great experience and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway side and possibly in between freeway and street side. Not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Breeze I, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kinds comments. Please give us an opportunity to serve you when you visit Oakland on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnelian Bay, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Drove over from SF after a Giants Game at AT&T. Friendly greeting at check-in, very secure parking area, absolutely spotless room, and very comfortable bed. Freeway noise wasn't a problem for the wife and I. It's hard to escape that whoosing sound where ever you go in urban California. Much easier to deal with than low flying aircraft, or train noise that comes and goes at random. Next time we're back in the SF Bay Area, we'll know where to look for inexpensive lodging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Breeze I, Public Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are delighted to get your honest and kind feedback. Please give us an opportunity to accommodate you on your next trip to Oakland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel twice on our coastal trip in California. It was very clean and modern with a great staff and very well appointed rooms. Beds are very comfortable, bathrooms gorgeous, hotel well kept. We plan to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from freeway as it may be noisy. Garden facing rooms are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Breeze Inn Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Address: 4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
#8 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Breeze Inn Oakland 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. We're conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bay Breeze Inn Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.