We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you're going to get for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Save Saved
You added Bay Breeze Inn Oakland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best you're going to get for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I have to work away from home and need a cheap place to stay Mon. thru Fri. Every week . After searching I picked this place and was surprised that they offered such a low rate for a decent room. It's secured at night by an automatic gate. Not the kind of place you would want to stay for your family vacation but for the budget minded person that just needs a place to sleep , give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj P, Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
thanks for you valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    10
    9
    29
See reviews for
20
26
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here one night, then came back the next day and stayed in a different room. Both rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. We read some mixed reviews before coming, but after staying here it seems like a lot of the negative reviews were exaggerated. The area around the hotel includes a few other hotels as well as some kind of industrial facilities, but we didn't feel like the neighborhood was a problem. We walked to and from the BART stop (during the day), which was fine. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj P, Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Appreciate your valuable feedback. Do come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I guess we should have known better for booking the cheapest motel in Oakland, but we would not stay here again. We stayed two nights and it felt very unsafe.

It is in a poorly lit industrial area with roads that are in dire need of repair. Very close to the freeway and the train track and very noisy. We were greeted with the simultaneous noisy of sirens and train whistles. We ran the air-conditioner on constant setting to cover the sound.

The staff seemed friendly but didn't seem to speak english well and had some trouble checking us in. We were put in a room all the way around to the back of the motel. The place seemed deserted until we got to the back parking lot which was completely full with the exception of the handicap spots. Since all the rooms around us were occupied we could easily hear people walking and talking around us. The seal on the bottom of the door was broken leaving a small crack all along it. The outside of the door had significant damage and appeared to previously have a pad lock on the outside. The small room had no phone and no clock; otherwise, it was nicely furnished. It had clearly been recently renovated and the room itself was quite nice.

We had no bugs, but I overheard another client complaining to the staff that they had hundreds of ants in their room and they were told that they would not be moved to another room.

There were hardly any TV channels, the internet was very slow and only worked occasionally, and you had to pay to get ice. The laundry has one one washer and one dryer and costs three dollars plus one dollar for soap if you don't have your own. It worked reasonably well and fairly quickly though.

We would absolutely not return to this motel and hope never to be in the neighbourhood again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

So after looking over the reviews which were mixed gave it a shot cause it is close to Bart and freeways. Nice lady checked us in asked if I could see the rooms cause on website it states prices between 35-95 she explained. They are remodelling so that's the difference. Showed us a newer room. We were sold for $70.talked to her about weekly. Rate cause we are staying for a while. Then it went down hill. Ants everywhere old beer bottles under. The bed. It sounds like your sleeping at a truck stop. All in all still OK hey its Oakland. That changed came morning. New lady RUDE charges. More for the same room then refused. To service my room. Told me everyothet day. I said either clean it or give me my money back. The whole family lives here. Little kids riding toys through parking. Lot. Maids know NO English..no mas is all.don't try to save pay the money stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absam, Tirol, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

It's close to the highway and the railway, that's why it's quite noisy. But tidy rooms, clean toilets, really nice hosts, fast wifi and good car parking (free). Low cost high value. It's not shangri-la but a nice stay for one night

Room Tip: We had a room towards the railway in the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

i don't know who are the reviewer below that gave good rating. to me it's really bad. this is my first time to comment here as usually i won't do things like that. here are my experience:

microwave seems broken, difficult to use. lights are not on (only several), no shampoo, location is bad and very noisy. it seems to me unsafe there. anyway, i rather to pay $20 more to stay a better place. it was holiday when i was in. however, only few cars parking there. it seems very few people like this small hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place was very clean and everything in working order.
I needed a good nights sleep for a long drive the next day and that is what I got.
It was easy to find and easy to get back on the freeway in the morning. It was gated and secure which also helped me sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Breeze Inn Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Address: 4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
#7 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Breeze Inn Oakland 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. We're conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bay Breeze Inn Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.