We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Save Saved
You added Bay Breeze Inn Oakland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have to go to Oakland at least once a week and I always stay at the Bay Breeze Inn. The owners are very nice and accomodating. The bathrooms have been remodeled and are very clean. The neighborhood is marginal but I have felt safe and nothing bad has ever happened while I was there. This is not a fancy motel but for the price it is a good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    10
    11
    34
See reviews for
23
30
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The rooms were affordable and very close to the Bart and freeways. Also rooms are relatively clean. Would recommend it for folks on a budget. Anthony

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Good hotel, good location (close to airport/bart), not that great neighborhood. The hotel though, is like a gated community and is safe inside…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

While traveling on business in the bay area I stumbled across this little place. The staff was very friendly and courtious, and they were able to give me an excellent weekly rate. $350 for a week! This price was so low I couldn't believe it! What makes the bay breeze in so convieniant though, is it's location. Its right next to the 880 freeway, and public transportation on the BART is within walking distance. Its gated parking lot is a deffinate plus! I was able to leave work supplies in my van without having to worry about it. The bay breeze inn will definatly be my "home base" so to speak when traveling to the Oakland area. Affordability and convieniance of location are its "Plusses" KB

Room Tip: East facing rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 4 a week,iv seen the lil mexican maintenance guy get "service" from hookers 4 a longer stay,iv seen him stealing from rooms while ppl r out,the nite guy wit turbin creepn around n showdows watchn ppl,they give u a room based on ur appearance(i thought all money spent tha same),apperently not here,the rooms have old,second hand linen and curtains,only 12 actual cable channels,no pay 4 more option,,its not worth the price,there own lil crappy controled world,hookers r welcome tho as long as they "service" the lil thieving/horndog maitenance guy,watch out 4 when he calls 2 u-"hey my friend",he's up e somthin

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

stayed here as I was visiting for a Raiders game, absolutely horrible, it should be called the Highway Breeze as it is smack bang next to 880 the 18 wheelers rumble by 24-7, so bring some ear plugs. The tiny towels provided were like using 80 grit sandpaper, and the tv had no HBO as advertised, in fact most of the channels were fuzzy and unwatchable. Finally unlike the ad it is not a 5 minute walk to the Colesium, more 20-25 through some of the slumiest industrial parks you'll ever see. My advice avoid at all costs, try and stay down on Edes were the hotel/motels are at least reasonably comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I've stayed here in the past and I could deal with the obvious scumminess of this place, especially for the price and location; however, when I tried to call for another reservation I was hung up on several times by some barely-English-speaking women. Eventually I got in contact with somebody claiming to be the manager who excused his rude staff as "they're new" and then said "what do you want?" Are you kidding me? That's how you talk to somebody who has dealt with your horrible staff and still wants to patronize your business? Apparently taking the two minutes to book somebody a room was more than he wanted to do because he told me if I didn't want to book online I could stay in a different motel. So if you want to get really pissed off at the rude staff, have a prostitute outside your door on her cell phone at 3am, and have your car broken into, stay here!

Room Tip: Go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Breeze Inn Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Address: 4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
#8 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Breeze Inn Oakland 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. We're conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bay Breeze Inn Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;