We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy but a bit greasy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cesar
4039 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611
(510) 985-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“yummy but a bit greasy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

great atmosphere and really good food. we got a bunch of appetizers including the potatoes with aioli and i just remember having that greasy feeling in my tummy afterwards. but overall i would go back -- great location and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sadly Inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I so wanted to give this place a positive review as try to support local establishments but it is such a frustrating place to go.

On numerous occasions I have received the entree before or at the same time as the appetizer. This is all the more incredulous when one orders a Caesar Salad or Oysters as the appetizer and a cooked entree arrives before them.

Portions too are inconsistent. Some of the entrees (the scallops) are appetizer-sized, yet (half) roast chicken entree is almost impossible to finish.

Cesar reminds me of a pretty woman who knows she doesn't have to try too hard because she can skate through life because of her looks.

I will say however, it is a nice place to grab a cold beer on a hot summer evening and their cocktails are interesting and different. Happy hour is probably the best time to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never fails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Never fails to have good service, great food - do not miss the patatas braves or the tres leches dessert - in a fun atmosphere. On sunny days the outdoor patio is wonderful to relax on, and on rainy nights, the inside feels warm and toasty. Although its different from the Berkeley location in that the food is Mexican, not Spanish, the food does not seem "typical" at all. A gem on Piedmont Avenue!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good cocktails, expensive food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Pros:
Delicious cocktails
Tasty tapas
Nice ambiance with open-wall patio

Cons:
Inattentive bartenders ("I think he saw me, but..... where the he**")
Overpriced for food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Bar César is a popular sports bar for happy hours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Whenever in Oakland, my wife, our daughter and I like go to Bar César for happy hours - to enjoy its delicious margaritas and sangria over some bar food! The ambience on its patio is just right for happy hours!

We like the flavorful patatas bravas and fresh oysters on half shell from the bar menu, and the grilled mushrooms sandwich from the regular menu. 
- Its fish tacos, garlic fries, and spicy wings are not as tasty as we'd like, however. 

The service is excellent. One late Fri evening, the place was hopping, our busy server was late bringing my 2nd Margarita order, as the bartender was way behind. He apologized profusely and gave me a FREE one! We appreciate that kind of good practice!

For its delicious drinks, sufficient number of tasty bar food items, and excellent service, we enjoy the happy hours at Césars, especially after a long walk in the afternoon around the neighborhood, or after a movie in the evening! 

Peterskis, July 2012

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cesar also viewed

 

Been to Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.