We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar César is a popular sports bar for happy hours!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Cesar

Bar Cesar
4039 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611
510 985 1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,012 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Bar César is a popular sports bar for happy hours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Whenever in Oakland, my wife, our daughter and I like go to Bar César for happy hours - to enjoy its delicious margaritas and sangria over some bar food! The ambience on its patio is just right for happy hours!

We like the flavorful patatas bravas and fresh oysters on half shell from the bar menu, and the grilled mushrooms sandwich from the regular menu. 
- Its fish tacos, garlic fries, and spicy wings are not as tasty as we'd like, however. 

The service is excellent. One late Fri evening, the place was hopping, our busy server was late bringing my 2nd Margarita order, as the bartender was way behind. He apologized profusely and gave me a FREE one! We appreciate that kind of good practice!

For its delicious drinks, sufficient number of tasty bar food items, and excellent service, we enjoy the happy hours at Césars, especially after a long walk in the afternoon around the neighborhood, or after a movie in the evening! 

Peterskis, July 2012

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We happened in on a Sunday mid afternoon and chose to sit at the bar. Had a delightful experience. The Sangria was delicious and the bartender gave us the recipe now made at home! The duck Tacos were fantastic, lively, casual and fun atmosphere. Cannot wait to go back and try other items on the menue. Excellent friendly service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

It has been a while since we last visited Bar Cesar. At the time, the only location was in Berkeley. Since then they have added one in Oakland on Piedmont Avenue. Last night we visited both. The consensus was that the Oakland place has better food but the atmosphere in Berkeley is better. The drinks are super in both places. However considering my recent visit to Sidebar in Oakland (see recent review) I would say Sidebar is better.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best Duck Taco You Will Find - Ambrosia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great fun spot for peoplewatching, drinks and very good/authentic food. Located on the street with doors which slide open on warm days. Spotlessly clean. Attentive service. Fun crowd. Perfect after a warm day outside or at the beach. The duck taco's and everything else we tried was delecious.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location on Piedmont, nice outside tables, small plates, attractive dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Location here is foremost. Very good to walk around the area and pick up the Peet's coffee across the street, etc. It's a bit pricey depending on time of day and what you order but they make an effort for presentation and creative dishes in a fun environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Cesar also viewed

 

Been to Bar Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.