We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Francesco's

Francesco's
8520 Pardee Dr, Oakland, CA 94621
(510) 569-0653
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,004 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food was not that great. Everything tasted like tomato paste, bread was hard. The only good thing was the lady that served us. Nice older lady!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's just o.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food I guess was o.k., but I expected more from an italian place that has been in business for over 43 years. But maybe it was just me, the local's seem to love it, it was very busy with local people. When I was there the special of the day was "cornbeef and cabbage", tried to figure out why that was the special in an itailian place, but what the heck to each their own. Would I go back? I don't think so, the food in my hotel was better then this, but my cheese cake was good so I guess everthing wasn't a loss.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice staff. They were closing, but allowed us to come in and eat. The food was good and affordably priced.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like in an old mafia movie:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a quick dinner here. The place is nice and funny, just like you are in an old movie. The portions are very big so if you are nog a big eater, you beter share a salad and a main dish the two of you. If will be enough. The staff is mainly eldery people, but very friendy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Italian Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Will have to agree with the other reviews about being an older establishment. It seems to be very clean which is an important issue! Very well kept up! Service excellant! Food, very good and large portions! You get your moneys worth. Would definately return under similar circumstances.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesco's also viewed

 

Been to Francesco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.