We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accomodating staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Inn

Save Saved
You added Imperial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   490 W MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and accomodating staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked last minute and stayed here the end of august with friends for a week as part of last minute california travels. Very good and decent place for the price you're getting. Beds were reasonably comfortable and place was clean. Staff were lovely and very friendly. Looses a star mainly because of the towels. There were four of us in the room and they should have been changed everyday as there was nowhere to hang them to dry. Apart from that great place to stay last minute on the cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
10
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koszalin, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

While travelling to San Francisco, we chose to stay at the Imperial Inn, since it was one of the cheapest options. The hotel wasn't that bad, conditions were at the average level. Two double beds, very small bathroom, a TV, air conditioning. Just what you are expecting to get for that price. The neighbourhood was really scary though. We decided once to go to the store at night and it wasn't the smartest choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial Inn during my U.S. vacation in June 2012 and primarily for visiting San Francisco. The location of the hotel is perfect for daily visits to The City by car or BART.

The hotel itself is okay-ish if you don't have high demands and don't want to pay the overpriced San Francisco hotel/motel room rates.

The rooms are dated and the furniture is kinda worn out and dirty. However the bed i had was clean, comfy and was made-up every day by the housekeeping. And yes the bathroom with the toilet is very... very small, it will be snake-like to open and close the door when inside :)

The neighbourhood where the hotel is located is sketchy, especialy at night. I knew Oakland wasn't the best place to stay for a vacation when i booked the room. And the funny thing is, i got that comfirmed when i arrived in the USA at the airport customs. The TSA security officer who questioned me asked me where i was going to stay and wished me goodluck after i said Oakland xD But the hotel and its parking are fenced off, so at night its kinda save.

I would stay at the Imperial Inn again if they lowered the room rates, because the rates almost doubled since my stay in June 2012 (i made reservations via their website).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

nuff said. there are BED BUGS AT THIS HOTEL. do yourself a favor and stay away from the imperial. its not an imperial experience. to their credit they gave full refund but.....doing the laundry all day and then having to schlep around an unknown town searching for bed bug spray which was incredibly hard to find (bed bath and beyond had an overly cinnamon spray we eventually gave into, very cinnamon). go up to berkeley for the 5 min drive to la quinta or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

They do not honor their online specials. I rented online a 3 nights for 2 special. The evening of the second night, I returned to my room to find a thug like young man knocking on my door, claiming his girlfriend is staying there. I told him to leave. When I got into the room, my personal belongings knocked over. The manager came to my door to ask what I was doing there, then they called me to say I owed them for the 3rd night. They also did not clean the room after my first night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teplice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Imperial Inn for 3 days and we chose this hotel because of overpriced SF centre hotels. It was about 90 USD per night. The rooms are well equiped with the comfortable king beds. The hotel is located close to the McArthur BART station which we wanted. By BART you can reach Embarcadero station (the first station on the way to SF) and it costs 3 USD per way. Near the hotel there is some fast food or local dinners so that you can eat the whole the day within the walking distance from the hotel. We recommend the upper floor rooms not facing the pool as the flowing water can be disturbing during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really enjoy staying at local, non-chain hotel/motels that I've found through TripAdvisor or Booking.com -- they're definitely cheaper, but usually have a lot more character ... and frequently charm. BUT NOT THIS PLACE!!! The Imperial Inn is creepy, dirty and nasty. The maids throw the bedspreads out onto the walkways while "cleaning" the room, then put them back on the beds. Furniture is stained; tv volume didn't work; air conditioning didn't work; they wouldn't give us enough towels or coffee; no kleenex; only a paper bath mat (never replaced); hair dryer, remote and "do not disturb" sign all greasy with dirty fingerprints; one small bar of soap to share between sink and tubette; nasty, little pillows. Neighborhood is marginal at best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Inn

Address: 490 W MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Imperial Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Imperial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.