We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling in seven” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Inn to your Saves list
Imperial Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   490 W MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Koszalin, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Travelling in seven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

While travelling to San Francisco, we chose to stay at the Imperial Inn, since it was one of the cheapest options. The hotel wasn't that bad, conditions were at the average level. Two double beds, very small bathroom, a TV, air conditioning. Just what you are expecting to get for that price. The neighbourhood was really scary though. We decided once to go to the store at night and it wasn't the smartest choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szyn3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial Inn during my U.S. vacation in June 2012 and primarily for visiting San Francisco. The location of the hotel is perfect for daily visits to The City by car or BART.

The hotel itself is okay-ish if you don't have high demands and don't want to pay the overpriced San Francisco hotel/motel room rates.

The rooms are dated and the furniture is kinda worn out and dirty. However the bed i had was clean, comfy and was made-up every day by the housekeeping. And yes the bathroom with the toilet is very... very small, it will be snake-like to open and close the door when inside :)

The neighbourhood where the hotel is located is sketchy, especialy at night. I knew Oakland wasn't the best place to stay for a vacation when i booked the room. And the funny thing is, i got that comfirmed when i arrived in the USA at the airport customs. The TSA security officer who questioned me asked me where i was going to stay and wished me goodluck after i said Oakland xD But the hotel and its parking are fenced off, so at night its kinda save.

I would stay at the Imperial Inn again if they lowered the room rates, because the rates almost doubled since my stay in June 2012 (i made reservations via their website).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

nuff said. there are BED BUGS AT THIS HOTEL. do yourself a favor and stay away from the imperial. its not an imperial experience. to their credit they gave full refund but.....doing the laundry all day and then having to schlep around an unknown town searching for bed bug spray which was incredibly hard to find (bed bath and beyond had an overly cinnamon spray we eventually gave into, very cinnamon). go up to berkeley for the 5 min drive to la quinta or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugscratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teplice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Imperial Inn for 3 days and we chose this hotel because of overpriced SF centre hotels. It was about 90 USD per night. The rooms are well equiped with the comfortable king beds. The hotel is located close to the McArthur BART station which we wanted. By BART you can reach Embarcadero station (the first station on the way to SF) and it costs 3 USD per way. Near the hotel there is some fast food or local dinners so that you can eat the whole the day within the walking distance from the hotel. We recommend the upper floor rooms not facing the pool as the flowing water can be disturbing during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronekTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really enjoy staying at local, non-chain hotel/motels that I've found through TripAdvisor or Booking.com -- they're definitely cheaper, but usually have a lot more character ... and frequently charm. BUT NOT THIS PLACE!!! The Imperial Inn is creepy, dirty and nasty. The maids throw the bedspreads out onto the walkways while "cleaning" the room, then put them back on the beds. Furniture is stained; tv volume didn't work; air conditioning didn't work; they wouldn't give us enough towels or coffee; no kleenex; only a paper bath mat (never replaced); hair dryer, remote and "do not disturb" sign all greasy with dirty fingerprints; one small bar of soap to share between sink and tubette; nasty, little pillows. Neighborhood is marginal at best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 406Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Room not clean and bad chemical smell, Towels is too small. Soap and shampoo made you feel like dishwashing liquid. The room door is just only keycard lock the feel not so secure. They did not receive credit card during my stay and no left luggage service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaikong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Imperial Inn was a good motel that deserves a better reputation. The reviews on other websites do not do it justice.

Location wise, its in Oakland, 20 minutes on the Bart from downtown San Francisco city (the tourist areas). This Inn was also a two minute walk from the BART station (one block), and the train ran every ten minutes untill late at night (1am ish). The area was not the nicest but never felt unsafe (and we did walk around at night). It's also a convenient walk to walgreens (10 mins) and safeway/cvs (25mins).

The room itself was slightly dated but spotless and cleaned daily. The ensuite bathroom was also clean and towels were provided and changed every day. Plenty of hot water, which never ran out and fast, free, wifi. The facilities were great for those on a budget trip: all rooms included both a fridge and microwave (both clean).

The staff couldn't have been nicer. Family run, they let us use phones, fax, office computer and the works (when our own phone broke down). They stored our luggage. In truth, they went out of their way to make sure our stay went well.

We stayed here for six nights in July 2012. We found it to be a great value place to stay and good to explore the city from, convenient to town and the outlets. We'd reccomend it.

Room Tip: There was a choice of smoking and non-smoking, make sure to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieDs d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
0.1 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#2 of 48 in Oakland
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#11 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
1.8 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#18 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Inn

Address: 490 W MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Imperial Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing