We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not honor their online specials” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Inn to your Saves list
Imperial Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   490 W MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Fresno
1 review
“Did not honor their online specials”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

They do not honor their online specials. I rented online a 3 nights for 2 special. The evening of the second night, I returned to my room to find a thug like young man knocking on my door, claiming his girlfriend is staying there. I told him to leave. When I got into the room, my personal belongings knocked over. The manager came to my door to ask what I was doing there, then they called me to say I owed them for the 3rd night. They also did not clean the room after my first night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    29
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
18
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teplice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Imperial Inn for 3 days and we chose this hotel because of overpriced SF centre hotels. It was about 90 USD per night. The rooms are well equiped with the comfortable king beds. The hotel is located close to the McArthur BART station which we wanted. By BART you can reach Embarcadero station (the first station on the way to SF) and it costs 3 USD per way. Near the hotel there is some fast food or local dinners so that you can eat the whole the day within the walking distance from the hotel. We recommend the upper floor rooms not facing the pool as the flowing water can be disturbing during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really enjoy staying at local, non-chain hotel/motels that I've found through TripAdvisor or Booking.com -- they're definitely cheaper, but usually have a lot more character ... and frequently charm. BUT NOT THIS PLACE!!! The Imperial Inn is creepy, dirty and nasty. The maids throw the bedspreads out onto the walkways while "cleaning" the room, then put them back on the beds. Furniture is stained; tv volume didn't work; air conditioning didn't work; they wouldn't give us enough towels or coffee; no kleenex; only a paper bath mat (never replaced); hair dryer, remote and "do not disturb" sign all greasy with dirty fingerprints; one small bar of soap to share between sink and tubette; nasty, little pillows. Neighborhood is marginal at best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Room not clean and bad chemical smell, Towels is too small. Soap and shampoo made you feel like dishwashing liquid. The room door is just only keycard lock the feel not so secure. They did not receive credit card during my stay and no left luggage service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Imperial Inn was a good motel that deserves a better reputation. The reviews on other websites do not do it justice.

Location wise, its in Oakland, 20 minutes on the Bart from downtown San Francisco city (the tourist areas). This Inn was also a two minute walk from the BART station (one block), and the train ran every ten minutes untill late at night (1am ish). The area was not the nicest but never felt unsafe (and we did walk around at night). It's also a convenient walk to walgreens (10 mins) and safeway/cvs (25mins).

The room itself was slightly dated but spotless and cleaned daily. The ensuite bathroom was also clean and towels were provided and changed every day. Plenty of hot water, which never ran out and fast, free, wifi. The facilities were great for those on a budget trip: all rooms included both a fridge and microwave (both clean).

The staff couldn't have been nicer. Family run, they let us use phones, fax, office computer and the works (when our own phone broke down). They stored our luggage. In truth, they went out of their way to make sure our stay went well.

We stayed here for six nights in July 2012. We found it to be a great value place to stay and good to explore the city from, convenient to town and the outlets. We'd reccomend it.

Room Tip: There was a choice of smoking and non-smoking, make sure to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I would never stay at Imperial Inn EVER!. Towels are small and very thin. Room has an odor.
Once I got there, I changed to stay only 1 nite and they charged me higher. It is hard to find.
Bathroom is tiny and shower is inadequate. For the price staying at Days Inn or Motel 6 is better

Room Tip: don't stay at Imperial Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

While cheap and close to San Francisco, our room was less than ideal. Cold (with a dusty heater), a rundown closet of a bathroom, dirty towels and shower curtain, and poor sound insulation made for a disappointing stay. I was woken up twice during the middle of the night by someone loudly stamping around the stairs and yelling. Not a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get something above the first floor and not facing the courtyard (sound echoes a lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Inn

Address: 490 W MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Imperial Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.