We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaguars @ Raiders” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McAfee Coliseum

McAfee Coliseum
7000 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94621
510 569 2121
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jaguars @ Raiders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were staying San Francisco and booked ourselves some tickets for the NFL match up between the Raiders and the Jags. It's pretty easy to get there from downtown San Fran... The train will take you right outside the stadium and the journey lasts about 1 hour.
The atmosphere around the stadium was really cool. Raiders fans are one of the best fans in the NFL and one of the loudest. I also noticed a lot of security, compared to other NFL games.
Once we got past security we entered the stadium, which is pretty old and nothing special compared to other stadiums in the NFL...
The stadium is open so we were very lucky it was a sunny day...
The game itself on the other hand was a real nailbiter. The Raiders won in OT by a field goal! "And the Raiders win the game in overtime... the crowd goes wild!!" Enough said :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    17
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Great Raider Game Tailgates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Now known as O.co Coliseum, the Raider tailgates are amazing, they start early 5 hours before kickoff, great atmosphere, an amazing party! Parking is expensive, $30 for Raiders games, Stadium is old, but natural grass and outdoors awesome for football, I hate dome stadiums! We saw a few visiting Chiefs fans and no problems, no need to feel scared Raiders fan welcomed everyone! Beer was decent like $8 (compared to 10-12 at other stadiums). Sun is on the visitor sides and you are closer to the field on the visitor side compared to the Raiders side. Can't comment on A's games as I never attended a baseball game there. The area is decent, not many bars or restaurants nearby, some fast food, the Oracle arena is right next door same lot, and the BART transit station is right out front, easy to attend games via Bart. A must visit for any Raiders fans to attend a home game!!!! Just Win Baby!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outdated Coliseum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had the opportunity to watch the Detroit Tigers and Oakland A's play off game. Such a thrill to watch a play off game! The stadium is so old and outdated. The Oakland fans were extremely rude and offensive! My son in law and I went out of our way to be courteous and friendly. From the time we walked to the Coliseum, which was close to a mile because the parking was not set up for such a crowd, we listened to chants of "go back to Motown and others too explicit to mention. It's a shame the sportsmanship was not to be found. The stadium had plenty of food and drink to offer. The condition of the stadium was run down, dingy and smelled of urine. We actually felt threatened walking to and from the Coliseum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The A's need a new stadium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had great seats at the stadium, but this stadium is sadly out of date given all the great new stadiums in baseball. We were in the second row because the price of the tickets were very reasonable. I suspect this is because the stadium is not that great. The fans around us were very nice, even though we were cheering for the visiting team. The game was very exciting and the home town fans were really into the game. We traveled to and from the game using the BART and that was surprisingly efficient. Hopefully a new baseball stadium deal for the A's can get worked out soon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scarry for visiting fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Interesting older stadium/ball field. Ist time to be in a ball park that is also a football stadium. A's fans did not take Ms. Manners course on how to treat guest. They should never feel they are in danger!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McAfee Coliseum also viewed

 

Been to McAfee Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McAfee Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McAfee Coliseum to your Saves list