We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Service ok.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champa Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champa Garden
2102 8th Avenue, Oakland, CA 94606
510-238-8819
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,069 restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food! Service ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Wow this a gem of a place in the middle of nowhere. Would have never come here if a friend hadn't taken us there. Wow was I blown away by the food. The special duck curry was amazing. Prices are reasonable, service is friendly but slow. Worth the trip for this out of the way location.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    15
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The porkball salad is excellent. Recently remoldled - so a bit spiffier these days. Family owned and they want to please. Most of the Lao dishes are a bit sweet for me so I can only handle one per visit. Lao beer!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Reasonably Priced Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I wasn't sure what I was in for - it didn't seem a restaurant could possibly be in such a residential neighborhood. Wow, I never ate Thai food like this. Delicious!! We were a good sized group, so I got to taste several of the dishes. I couldn't pick out a favorite amongst them - I wish I lived near enough that I could go again soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were pet sitting for some friends near Lake Merritt and I read about Champa Garden in tripadvisor so we tried it outlast week. Our lunch meals were so good that when our wedding anniversary came up today, instead of going to San Francisco to celebrate, we went back to Champa Garden. This time we took another writer's recommendation and ordered the Champa Sampler. It was great!!
The food was great. The staff was good. The price was right. The neighborhood was questionable, but who cares.
Try it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best laosian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

yummy appetizers! and brings such a mix crowd all the time. feels like grandma is cooking back there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champa Garden also viewed

 

Been to Champa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.