We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606 (Formerly Economy Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
La Crescenta, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here four nights in late October 2013. Yes, it's an older motel and has some problems, but for four nights we paid about the same as we have for one night in a nicer place in SF. The location is excellent, steps from Lake Merritt, walking distance to BART, and surprisingly quiet. The room was clean and had clearly had a few recent upgrades. The manager Paul was very accommodating and will talk your ear off about his plans for the place! There's free coffee, tea, pastries and fresh fruit in the morning, and free wi-fi. We appreciated that it was a 100% non-smoking property.
Some negatives:
The television only had a few channels (though watching tv was not high on our trip agenda).
The bathroom had no electrical outlet (when we asked Paul provided an extension cord).
The thick sheet of bulletproof glass at the office counter is tacky.
The door to the room was old (lock was brand new, though, and very secure) and had pretty wide gaps around the edges.
No elevator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIOaklandCA L, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback! We’re always looking to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
16
4
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's the total package! We recently stayed at the ABVI in downtown Oakland (Lake Merritt) for a week while apartment hunting in the area. Paul (General Manager) and staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The improvements to the rooms and common areas (fast free wifi, 32" flat panel HDTV's, and furnishings) have transformed it from where it used to be.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIOaklandCA L, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks so much! We’re always trying to help our guests the best we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hi,
we stayed about six nights in the motel in september '13. Yes, it is in between a decent and a sketchy area (as previous comment says). After searching for a motel directly in Frisco (there was none for a good price available due to America's Cup), we came across this ABVI and booked at once. It is as described by first comment, it is reopened, the staff is very motivated and engaged, especially the General Manager made it a comfortable stay. The first room was a bid loud due to other guests, next day we could change the room easily. Once, the fridge was broken, it was exchanged with no delay. The motel is located best, by car or by train (BART) you can reach Frisco Downtown within 25 minutes (incl. walk to the station!). We got borrowed a hairdryer and an extension cable easily (some baths do not include hairdryer and/or AC/DC sockets). The Motel offers 24 hours coffee, this one was the best coffee, we got during our 10 different hotels/motels we visited in California during our first stay in US. It is just good value in money, the surveillance cameras offer some security, also, the second gate closes very early, so that staff has to see everybody who's about to enter. Maybe the management can put away that thick glass safety window in order to show safety of this motel.
All in all, good value for money when visiting Frisco/Bay Area. We wish the Team of ABVI Lake Merritt all the best for future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not directly located at the stairs, then nightly coming guest should not disturb your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIOaklandCA L, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback! Great Room Tip too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is on the border between a very decent area and a very sketchy area. As a single female traveler, I did not feel safe here. In the lobby, there is a very thick glass safety window between the guest and hotel staff; the photo of the lobby is much nicer than it actually appears. My room was very spare and the towels were cheap and stained. They have taken other security precautions like a big iron fence around the parking lot (that is left open?) and several security cameras, but I did not feel that the two young men behind the counter were prepared to come to my rescue should something happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Manager Paul was committed to make our stay a good one. Very good value. Just a few miles from downtown San Francisco. Our room was recently refurbished and was nice. One comment would be to remodel the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIOaklandCA L, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Anything that we can improve on is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

Address: 122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606 (Formerly Economy Inn)
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Economy Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.