We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockridge Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rockridge Cafe
5492 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1552
510-653-1567
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

All is good at the rock ridge cafe. very tasty diner food. all breakfast items are good. most of their pastries seem to be semifreddies. great BLT. they changed their fries not as good as old ones so get the curly fries instead. a great neighbored place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I drive 150 miles to eat breakfast here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've eaten here with friends, colleagues, and alone, and it's consistently good food. It's a traditional little breakfast place with some creative, non-traditional dishes on the menu. I highly recommend the Sausage Scrambles or the Prosciutto & Ricotta Omelet. It's also a low-key place to sit in a corner alone, and/or watch sidewalk activity from tables at the front window. I regularly drive nearly 150 miles (each way!) to spend time in the charming Rockridge neighborhood and always eat at the Rockridge Cafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Local Diner Like Restaurant, Old Fashioned, Decent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went recently to Rockridge Cafe and hadn't been there in 10 years at least! It was still as I remembered it. Pleasant staff and a piece of nostalgia in the phsycial atmosphere. The Cheeseburger was good and bacon on it excellent.

Homemade soup a rent lentil with vegetables came with old fashioned saltine crackers in a package.

If you are in the neighborhood and need to grab something decent to eat, this is a good place to do that. it is nothing fancy, special or fabulous but it does the job. It is clean and the food quality is good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish this was better as location is great; food not so special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place keeps busy I think due to the good location but the food has been disappointing more often than not and I only go if someone asks to meet me there. I would not suggest it. I recall having breakfast with dry herbs on the potatoes that nearly made me choke. That was something I didn't order again but it is hard to mess up eggs and potatoes so much but they sometimes do. A number of my friends do like to go there so I guess it is hit or miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“An Old Friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Me and the Rockridge Cafe showed up in the Rockridge at the same time, back in 1973. I have been a loyal customer ever since. Solid food at reasonable prices. I was saddened when the owner cut back and discontinued serving dinner. But, I can't really blame him since I quit working entirely. Go for breakfast. All egg dishes satisfy. If you want to get daring try the ricotta pancakes or the croissant french toast. It is all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockridge Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rockridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockridge Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.