We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're going to like this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buttercup Kitchen Family

Buttercup Kitchen Family
229 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-3802
(510) 444-2976
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 1,064 restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
turgtusteynam
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“You're going to like this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's not some 5-star, but it was so great. I went there for breakfast nearly every day and several times to dinner. They really do it up right. Great variety, portions and price. Fresh-baked bread with your dinner. The staff cared. Oh my. It was great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    14
    29
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Buttercup, home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'm from Pgh but find myself in Oakland every other week. The Buttercup has outstanding selection, genrous portions and good prices for CA. I tend more often than not to get my dinner there stop in and ask for Brenda, a wonderful server.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An Oakland Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I just have a very good breakfast. It's been a few months since I've been here but it is still just what I was hoping for. The food is still very good and my server (Barbara) was excellent. The menu is extensive and they are very flexible when it comes to substitutions. They have great pies too.

As I recall, I've been here somewhere between 15 to 20 times over the span of 10 years and the results have been the same. If you are near Broadway in Oakland, give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had read reviews of the Buttercup grill/kitchen and was really looking forward to going. I was disappointed to find that it was similar to an IHop or even Denny's. One visit was enough.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Delicious food, does not matter when you go, everything is fabulous. Staff are very friendly especially Adrian and Juanita, nothing is a problem for them. Went back several times and cannot fault anything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttercup Kitchen Family also viewed

 
Oakland, CA

Been to Buttercup Kitchen Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttercup Kitchen Family, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.