We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere but not a "first date" type of place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luka's Taproom & Lounge

Luka's Taproom & Lounge
2221 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94612
510-451-4677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 994 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but not a "first date" type of place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I attended a concert at the Paramount Theater and one of my co-worker's recommended that I go to Luka's for a bite to eat. It's located just a couple of blocks from the Paramount and when I got there it was crowded but I was able to get a seat at the bar. It's pretty loud in there but the cool thing is that there were so many different cultures there eating, drinking, talking, laughing & watching tv. I loved the feel of this place!!! I ordered the "Steak Frites". It's basically a sirloin steak with green peppercorn butter & steak sauce aioli. The steak was cooked medium (just like I it) but it wasn't hot...more like lukewarm. My recommendation is that it needed more seasoning (Montreal Steak Seasoning would have truly enhanced the taste ot the steak). The green peppercorn butter & steak sauce aoili were great as were the "Frites" (fries) which were presented in a cone-shaped piece of sandwich paper. I also ordered a Raspberry Lemon-Drop Martini that was perfect. I would definitely go here again but next time I will try the Luka's Burger & Fries.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    34
    18
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool Urban Vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Late night bistro dining at Luka's in Oakland was a treat. The room is long and narrow with the bar on the left as you enter, tables on the right. Menu selection was interesting and inviting. Food was tasty and served at proper temperature. The service was friendly and prompt dispute a healthy crowd. Noise level can be a problem for those with hearing difficulties but, not a "knock out." Prices are reasonable and the overall ambiance was hip and sophisticated attracting a diverse clientele. I liked it a lot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I always enjoy coming here: for drinks and/or food.
But...
-it's really loud.
-oyster a la diablo had a fabulous sauce, but the oysters were too teeny to taste.
-cocktails are always superb
-service is slo but attentive. which is fine. nice to linger and do some people watching.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, but loud!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This place has good food, but it is extremely loud! At times, it's gotten so loud that it's been unbearable for me. Don't go here if your have sensitive hearing!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If there is a townie spot in Uptown Oakland, this is it! Consistent. Not the best food but not the worst either! Price on food is about 20% too high. Beer and mixed drinks are priced right.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luka's Taproom & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Luka's Taproom & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luka's Taproom & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.