We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it's pros and cons--ours was more cons.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Seattle
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Has it's pros and cons--ours was more cons.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We wanted a place close to the airport because we had an early flight. The free shuttle running every half hour was a plus. The continental breakfast was a plus. The desk clerk was definitely not a plus. He was curt and rude. Our room was mediocre for cleanliness---filthy socks after walking on the carpeting. There was a small space between the main sleeping area and the bathroom for luggage and hanging clothes, where there was also a non-working small fridge. The problem was that the carpet was totally water-logged in that 5 or 6 feet. After you stepped in that area and then entered the bathroom, your wet feet on the tile caused you to slip and slide all over the bathroom floor. We found this out right after we got in our room and, had I not held onto the sink, I would have fallen. The desk clerk was busy checking in other late arrivals and when we told him about it, he made no comment whatsoever, and the hotel was not full by the looks of vehicles outside, but we were a late check-in, with an early flight, so we just made the best of it. I had to use the towels to soak up some of the water and keep wringing them out as the carpet was so saturated. I also used them on the bathroom floor to navigate from the commode to the doorway, so that I wouldn't fall on the wet floor, and then step again onto the saturated carpet to make my way to the bed. I had to take a towel with me to dry my feet before getting into bed. This was not easy in the dark. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    17
    19
    30
See reviews for
30
36
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked this Inn because it is close to airport, and you can leave your car in their parking lot, also they drive you to the airport. After taking a shower and walking to the bed, I looked at my
feet, holy moly, they were so dirty from walking on the bathroom floor and carpet in the bedroom area. I asked my husband to show me his feet, who took a shower before me, same think------Dirty!
Tile in bathroom is black, and carpet is very, very, dark, so hard to tell if it is clear or flithty!
Clean rooms means a lot to me, so will not go there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

First the facility is old not 1980's old but probably 1960's old. Outside of this place is totally run down. The inner courtyard - during my stay - was full of old equipment from the restaurant, worn out hotel room parts and stacks of other stuff. The outdoor pool area seemed functional and the landscaping did include some nice trees as well as some areas in need of modernization.

The room itself was old but clean. The bathroom floor and shower were made of black tile (which shows dirt) and SPOTLESS. The bed was an adjustable firmness mattress and not as comfortable as I would have preferred. The TV was old and had some static on a few channels but the channel offering was good.

The parking lot is secure. The shuttle service is extraordinary. They will take you anywhere in the local area to make your stay comfortable. In my case they picked me up at the rental car center, brought me back, then took me to the airport. The drivers were not talkative but very polite and cared about your experience (I was dressed for 100 degree weather in a Oakland when the temperature was 50's).

An added kicker, the Indian restaurant connected to the hotel has great food and superb prices.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor room away from the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

this is my first hotel review, so apology in advance if I miss out on certain bits. This hotel was referred to me by a close friend, he said John it might be a good idea to find a park and fly hotel near the oakland airport. Find a hotel that will allow you to park your car, fly out, fly back in, get your car and go. No need to wait on people taking you from place to place and no need to worry about missing your flight. I said you know your right. This hotel has a great park and fly option, my car was in the same condition when I returned, shuttle was on time, no the rooms were decent, no complaints, worked well in my case.

Room Tip: plan well, rest well, before a flight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Its a suprise to see all the negative reviews for this place. I guess it was a good thing I booked the room before reading all these reviews. I know this is not a five star hotel so I do not expect a five star experience, but the staff was extremely helpful, they provided me a shuttle to bart station which I used to get to San Francisco, they provided me free maps, suggestions on restaurants and activities, direction, and a early checkin. That right there was not expected. From the street view you would never expect such a nice place. Yes the building looks a little older maybe built in the 80s or 90s, but the landscaping was beatiful, rooms were big and clean, and what I never seen at a two star hotel before was a pond with big trees, bamboo, a waterfall, and turtles, no fish though. But o well, I was please with my stay and experience, great value.

Room Tip: Never had Indian food before, but it was pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked this place for one night before we catch the plane back home. The man at the reception was very unfriendly, bored and unhelpful. The room was ok, but not cleaned properly (no smoking room, but on the balcony there was an ashtray full of sigarets from the previous guests.) if you leave the window open you can smell the fuel of the airplanes. I would not recomend this place. The adjustable air matresses are really terrible. And there is a construction site next door, the workers start working at 7 am , so it is very noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is terrible. The room smelled like urine. The staff was not friendly at all. The 2 nights we stayed there they had a party with very loud music. Parking is ridiculous. There is trash all over the hotel. The "sleep number" beds were the most uncomfortable ever! Not enough towels in the room. The room did not have an alarm clock or coffee pot. Would not recommend this hotel. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#22 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
1.2 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 10 Hegenberger Road, Oakland, CA 94501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Econo Lodge Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.