We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Nice Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshi's

Yoshi's
Jack London Square, Oakland, CA
510-238-9200
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ate here before the show. We had the spicy, crunchy Hamachi roll, excellent! The rainbow roll was good. I had the pomegranate martini and my husband had the pineapple rum specialty drink, both were great. My husbands lobster tail was OK - the portion was a bit small and it was a little chewy. The toffee cake was awesome. The waitress was attentive and friendly and everything was served promptly. Yoshi's determines where you sit to view the show on a first come first serve basis. Your waitress brings you your seating info as you are eating dinner. They also validate parking (10% off). Our seating was OK (not a bad seat in the house) and our dinner reservations were an hour before the show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I saw Doctor John here recentley, it was a great venue, with great food, excellent location, can get close to there on BART, and take cab or walk several blocks. Oaklands not as bad as one thinks as far as safety and security. Id you get off the BART at 12th street, you can walk to 11th street where there's a Hotel, and there's a line of cabs there, also there a free shuttle from downtown Oakland to Jack London Square as well

Have fun!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez Springs, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese on Jack London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very fine service and quite good food. The sake list was top notch. Fish very fresh. Bad neighborhood just a block away though, so be careful

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“phenomenal food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This restaurant if fantastic. We had the most amazing dinner. I'm kind of a picky eater and I haven't had food this good in a long time. Everything we ordered was amazing - I wouldn't have changed a single thing. And, our waitress was the best. She was friend, attentive and knowledgeable about the food. I highly recommend eating at Yoshi's if you are in the area. You will be doing yourself a disservice by not trying this restaurant. Just writing about it makes me want to go back for dinner again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jazz and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It has some of the best jazz bands anywhere! It's an intimate venue. The restaurant offers excellent Japanese food including beautiful presentation. The sushi is so good when our friends from Toyko come they want to go there & say it's better sushi than they get at home.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshi's also viewed

 

Been to Yoshi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoshi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.