We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food for a chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta Pomodoro

Pasta Pomodoro
5500 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618
510-923-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,125 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
San Francisco,CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“OK food for a chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Pasta Pomodoro has been providing reasonably priced somewhat inspired Italian food throughout the Bay Area for years. This location in North Oakland occupies a converted Chinese restaurant from years ago. The menu is pretty extensive and well above the level of The Olive Garden. There's also lunch specials that include soup or salad that are good value Recommended for something quick yet formal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best soups and Great pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Alyssa, most enthusiastic and most energetic, with service. She can provide great suggestions. I believe their freshly prepared soups are exceptional and just like homemade. The mushroom ravioli dish, which I had was absolutely fantastic. They also have an exceptional choice of desserts, and I shared the bread pudding, with my guest; we were very impressed with the presentation and flavor.

This is a very popular family place, but if you are interested in a more adult like environment, plan to arrive after 8 PM...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding for a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was a little skeptical about eating here, but we did not have the time for a full fine dining experience. Was with my husband and two friends. When we walked in we could see the entire operation, including the two cooks. We were amazed to see one guy with about six skillets over open flames. He had that many entrees going at once and was working swiftly and deftly to keep them all going. I was thinking, this can't possibly be any good. Well, thankfully, I was proved wrong. We ordered three different entrees and all were delicious. I actually had two appetizers: the Polenta Farcita which was stuffed with spinach and gruyere cheese and sauteed in olive oil and garlic was delicious and tender. The sauteed shrimp in a spicy tomato sauce with large croutons was also quite good. My husband had a Farro Salad that he loved and grilled salmon with spinach sauce on a bed of cannelini beans. One friend had the asparagus risotto that she said was great. I really did not expect such creative food from an Italian chain. There were many families there with children, so it is a good place for working moms and dads to have a quality family meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I know it's a chain, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

I know it's a chain, but it's so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I'm not a chain restaurant person, but the food isn't too bad there. They have some healthy selections like soups and...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

I'm not a chain restaurant person, but the food isn't too bad there. They have some healthy selections like soups and salads, as well as some veggie sides. That's a huge plus

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pasta Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.