We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great what a meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott's Seafood Restaurant

Scott's Seafood Restaurant
2 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-3748
510-444-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scott's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,065 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Bart located 10 blocks from restaurant (11th Street Bart).
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So great what a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Met with friends who travelled from Kenya. We had so much fun and a great meal and excellent service. Thank you so much Scotts! Our server Sept 7 for dinner I wish I could remember his name was outstanding. Food and wine choices were memorable. Thanks for a great evening meant a lot to us!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    66
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful setting, superb service amazing seafood! definitely recommend and will go again next time in the area

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
732 helpful votes 732 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average food, unattentive service, boring menu, pretty much sums up Scott's? At then end of the meal the waitress actually asked if we were celebrating anything special, very strange timing to me as the bill was being rang up

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Limited to certain dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We remember when Scott's was THE place to eat seafood in the '70's. But this is 2012, and time has mostly passed them by. The fish is slightly overcooked by today's standards, and the sauces pretty much begin and end with lemon/butter/white wine. Not bad, but no longer mind-blowing. What they do well is: fried calamari, which is served with that lemon butter sauce and delicious, if lousy for your arteries. Popcorn shrimp, same. Shrimp salad sandwich is better than the crab salad sandwich. Best of all is the burger at lunch: lunch is quieter, calmer; with a tasty burger with a good bun. Everything else is mediocre, although at least the Boudin sourdough bread is absolutely fresh every day.

The time to come is for the Lighted Boat Parade every December. It happens literally right outside the windows. You MUST make a reservation well in advance, and expect service to be slightly below the barely adequate level it usually it. It is crowded, but a genuinely fun way to begin the holiday season!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is in the top 8”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think that many people who rate these Oakland Restaurants are a bit off. Scott's Seafood (just like kincaid's) is a corporate restaurant focused more on up-selling. Their food isn't terrible, but it's definitely no shining star compared to the gems all over the city of Oakland. Their food is average but I suppose you pay for the spectacular view. The only time I eat here is for the occasional happy hour dinner about once a year (if that) and I live in close proximity.

If you want a nice place to go for a romantic dinner, a nice celebration, or some exceptional cuisine, check out (in no particular preference order) places like:

Hudson, Wood Tavern, Khana Pena, Acote - College Avenue
Comis, Dopo - Piedmont Avenue
Mezze, Side Bar - Lake Merritt
Flora, Pican - The Uptown Area
Rumbo Al Sur - Glenview

And there are so many other great places!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scott's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.