We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott's Seafood Restaurant

Scott's Seafood Restaurant
2 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-3748
510-444-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scott's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,116 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Bart located 10 blocks from restaurant (11th Street Bart).
Whitefish, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A wonderful setting, superb service amazing seafood! definitely recommend and will go again next time in the area

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    72
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
744 helpful votes 744 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average food, unattentive service, boring menu, pretty much sums up Scott's? At then end of the meal the waitress actually asked if we were celebrating anything special, very strange timing to me as the bill was being rang up

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Limited to certain dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We remember when Scott's was THE place to eat seafood in the '70's. But this is 2012, and time has mostly passed them by. The fish is slightly overcooked by today's standards, and the sauces pretty much begin and end with lemon/butter/white wine. Not bad, but no longer mind-blowing. What they do well is: fried calamari, which is served with that lemon butter sauce and delicious, if lousy for your arteries. Popcorn shrimp, same. Shrimp salad sandwich is better than the crab salad sandwich. Best of all is the burger at lunch: lunch is quieter, calmer; with a tasty burger with a good bun. Everything else is mediocre, although at least the Boudin sourdough bread is absolutely fresh every day.

The time to come is for the Lighted Boat Parade every December. It happens literally right outside the windows. You MUST make a reservation well in advance, and expect service to be slightly below the barely adequate level it usually it. It is crowded, but a genuinely fun way to begin the holiday season!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is in the top 8”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think that many people who rate these Oakland Restaurants are a bit off. Scott's Seafood (just like kincaid's) is a corporate restaurant focused more on up-selling. Their food isn't terrible, but it's definitely no shining star compared to the gems all over the city of Oakland. Their food is average but I suppose you pay for the spectacular view. The only time I eat here is for the occasional happy hour dinner about once a year (if that) and I live in close proximity.

If you want a nice place to go for a romantic dinner, a nice celebration, or some exceptional cuisine, check out (in no particular preference order) places like:

Hudson, Wood Tavern, Khana Pena, Acote - College Avenue
Comis, Dopo - Piedmont Avenue
Mezze, Side Bar - Lake Merritt
Flora, Pican - The Uptown Area
Rumbo Al Sur - Glenview

And there are so many other great places!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Sunday brunch I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I don't know how you can have brunch here and not give it five stars. My wife and I first discovered this waterfront dining experience two years ago and have made it a must-stop whenever we are near it on a Sunday. Come hungry. There is no end to the magnificent dishes. Come thirsty. There is no end to the champagne and memosa's. The service is top notch, and the view, well, how can you not like waterfront dining overlooking the boat docks and boat traffic on the Estuary. We have not had dinner here so I can't testify to the dinner. But, this place is a real treat on Sunday mornings.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scott's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.