We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't eat here.....but I will soon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Grill

Oakland Grill
301 Franklin St, Oakland, CA 94607-3822
510-835-1176
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 1,065 restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Leandro, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I didn't eat here.....but I will soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was working at a trade show and was sent to pick up four sandwiches. We tried calling in advance, but nobody picked up the phone. I was greeted as soon as I walked in, even though the place was jumping. I ordered the four sandwiches and waited at the breakfast bar. Every plate that passed by me looked tempting, but especially the eggs benedict. (I'm a hollandaise junkie). I can tell the service is exceptional...because even though I was just waiting for a to go order, they brought me a glass of water, and even refilled it when it got low! Who does that? Very busy, very happy staff, lots of customers leaving happy, and the sandwiches were fantastic! I had the Turkey Club on foccacia bread...I'm normally not a fan of foccacia, but this one was truly delicious. It was a perfectly crafted sandwich (the right proportions of all the components). Rave reviews from my friends for the Milano Chicken and Turkey Sandwich as well. I would order sandwiches from here again, but would also love to come and eat here when I get the chance!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    7
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
city
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Too much money for too much food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The quality of the food is good, but the portion size is too large for too much money.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and cheap mimosas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Oakland Grill served me up some of the best brunch that I've had in a long time. They do breakfast and they do breakfast right. Plus they have $1.95 mimosas so you can't go wrong!

On Saturday, John and I ventured to faraway Oakland to meet up with our friends Danielle and Brian (and baby Molly). As we followed our navigation, it took us to a somewhat industrial part of Oakland (what part isn't really). Much to our surprise smack dab in the middle of produce packing central was the inconspicuous Oakland Grill. We sat upstairs overlooking the open-air kitchen and long narrow restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised to be sat right away on a Saturday at 11am. (If there is one thing that annoys me, it's droves of people waiting for breakfast.)

The menu is pretty standard for any breakfast establishment. You got your standard eggs, pancakes, omelets, Eggs Benedict and a few other specialty-type items like Crab Benedict and Huevos Rancheros, but nothing out of the ordinary. The food was superb for breakfast food. Hot, fresh and delicious. I ordered my poached eggs "well done" and they came out perfect. Danielle ordered a breakfast combo that closely resembled a Denny's Grand Slam, why mess with something if it isn't broken.

The mimosas are a true selling point for the Oakland Grill. With other breakfast places charging upwards of $7 or $8 for a single mimosa, Oakland Grill has really cornered the cheap mimosa market in the area. We each enjoyed 2 mimosas each which cost us $16, but if we had mimosas at Fat Lady down the street, we would have been out a whopping $56.

Oakland Grill is a great breakfast spot to hit next time you find yourself hungry and in

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“nice for breakfast in downtown oakland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

nice for breakfast in downtown oakland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good old fashioned burgers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Good old fashioned burgers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Grill also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.