We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beer Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brotzeit

Brotzeit
Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
510-645-1905
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Restaurant details
Danville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Lovely Beer Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A fantastic locale for a Beer Garden . . . . Right on the Water.

Choice of Beers . . . . Local and German

Tried their Vegan Sausage, which was pretty good introduction.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, Ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Filled with locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good Beers for a reasonable price and great sausages!
We walked over from the Homewood Suites and were pleasantly surprised!
I had an IPA which was awesome and my fiend had a pilsner.
Both of us were very pleased with the food and the value.
My meal was about $20 with tip (1 Beer, Sausage and fries).
I would go there again if I am staying at the Homewood Suites.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulsbyville, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bar food, excellent Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in Brotzeit for a late dinner (around 9pm) after getting to our hotel later then expected. This place has a very simple menu...mostly sausage and beer. They have fries, and soft pretzels as well. We ordered the firebrand pretzel (which was a soft pretzel, but it was cold), Jalapeno chicken sausage – which was okay..., the wurzige sausage, which seemed to be a little under done in the middle, the taste was good though. We also had fries, which were average, and onion rings which were pretty oily. The beer was excellent. They have a huge selection of European beer on tap, and will help you pick out the right one for you. They have a very nice outdoor seating area right next to the bay. The tables inside and out are wooden picnic tables. All in All it was a decent place to hang out if you wanted to drink and have German bar food, but not a great place for selection. I don't think they had a veggie on the menu at all except for sauteed green beans, which came with a meal...
Right next to our hotel, but not much else out there. Prices a little high in some dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gut Essen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Simple menu, food is well prepared and presented. Excellent choice of draft and bottled beers from local to European. Lively atmosphere with good views of boats and water. Both outside and inside dinning is simple but comfortable. Service was a bit slow, but considering the crowd and time of day it was acceptable. There are two boat guest slips available so it easy to include this stop as part of a day on the bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“MUST EAT in Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

You must try the recently opened and newly renovated the German Restaurant -BROTZEIT. It is located in the facility (former Oyster Reef) just off the Embarcadero behind and in the parking lot of the Homewood Suites. The bar offers many German beers on draft, and a considerable wine selection. The menu provides numerous authentic Germany dishes, and the many wurst (sausage) selections are made on the property! GREAT outside seating with a beautiful view of the marina. Reasonably priced and a fantastic value! ENJOY! I'll be back! SOON!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brotzeit also viewed

 

Been to Brotzeit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brotzeit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.