We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go to restaurant for steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garibaldi's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garibaldi's
5356 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618
(510) 595-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hudson/Manilla
Transit: Bart Rockridge
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“My go to restaurant for steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Last time I visited Hudson, I was craving meat, meat, meat! I started with the steak tar tar as an appetizer, which is always wonderful. Then I ordered the hanger steak medium rare (but on the rare side) which came out perfection! Every time I crave a good quality steak dinner in the bay area, I always order it here. My boyfriend ordered the seafood dish and devoured it, claiming it was the best fish he'd had in a long time.

Our waiter was very accommodating, friendly, timely and fun. We ended the night with the peach pie, cheese, and Chartreuse! Always a perfect dinner at Hudson. And their happy hour is great too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“change this name!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I love the appetizers and the Bar at Hudson.... also.. valet parking .. yipee!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Garibaldi's = Hudson = One Fine Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just flew in earlier that day from east coast and had major carnivore craving going on. After surfing the usual East Bay suspects, "Hudson of Oakland" appeared into the fray, citing a signature porcini-crusted 24oz ribeye for two. So off we went with no reservations on a Saturday evening to quickly hustle there, betting on the come that an arrival around 6 would get us a table. And it did. If only our Vegas craps calls were that perfect.....

Ambiance is described as a "fun/relaxed modern-American brasserie with tons of integrity....and a warm. yet modern interior with a sexy bar/lounge area (open late)..." We found that to be spot-on, as we sat in couples' table series parallel to the bar. And yes, the tabletops are small with zero lot-line proximity to the next, but we wound up in conversation with our neighbors that added an extra measure of enjoyment to the evening. TIP: obviously with the bar confines and its overall noise level, those seeking the intimate dining experience should try the dining room.

On to the food....we did our usual three course split....started with the house special pizza magherita appetizer....a thin crusted, small flat bread slices with fresh mozzarella, tangy tomato, and sweet basil was excellent....and a perfect alternative to bread.
Next came the Bucatini Carbonara, done al-dente perfect with just the right dose of pancetta, black pepper, and pecorino, so it was not salty or soupy. My only complaint was portion size as it basically evaporated in about 3 to 4 fork twirls each.
Of course the highlight of the evening was the ribeye, which we had sliced pupu-style. It was grilled medium-rare perfection with olive oil and basalmic dashes, accompanied by sinful au-gratin potatoes.
Since the carbs were running rampant that night, with twinges of remorse as our newly acquainted neighbors pounded salads and split a half-pound hamburger, we skipped dessert in reflective repentence.

The rest of the menu, while not expansive, did have something for everyone. We will be headed back soon for the short ribs, salmon, and pork roast at some point. This place is that good.

TIP: we didn't realize until we got our AMEX statement that Garibaldi's may have been the former branding for this place. The weblink for that is dead now, but you will find Hudson at www.hudsonoakland.com.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Garibaldi's has been so good for so long that I fear some people may not think to go there. Excellent, varied, creative menu. Very good wine list and the bartenders definitely know how to make a great cocktail. Fun to go to eat at the bar but also good for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
“Poor service, expensive, average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Not a good place to enjoy the food and company of companions. Service poor, noisy, expensive. Not worth the price

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garibaldi's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garibaldi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.