We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place by the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zza's Trattoria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zza's Trattoria
552 Grand Ave, Oakland, CA 94610-3515
510-839-9124
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place by the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We visited on a saturday when they were having an oyster brunch. The sangria was excellent, as were the oysters. My wife had the shrimp and pancetta pizza and it was top notch. Every wine suggested paired perfectly with our food. Definitely would come back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    1
    7
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

food was ok but not really good. bruschetta was too bready. wine list was ok. decor but somewhat dingy

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food is uneven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was considering using Zza's Trattoria as a meeting place for dinner with a group of friends from high school days and decided to preview it by having dinner with a friend as I hadn't been there in quite some time. The first thing I noticed is the ambience is looking a bit shabby. Many of the chairs have ripped uphostery and the walls are painted a drab, dark color. I ordered a shrimp pizza which was divine. Thin crust ,tasty sauce and fresh shrimp. However, my friend ordered the roasted chicken and left most of it on her
plate. I tasted a bite and it was dry and tasteless. Two other restaurants in the neighborhood were packed with people while Zza's only had a smattering of folks. It is too bad that I had to decide not to use Zza's for our get-together as I have good memories of the restaurant from the past.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice space, food unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Have tried this place a couple of times wanting it to be better, but while it's lively and has a pleasant space and a good wine bar selection, the food just doesn't cut it. The entrees have a reheated in the microwave from tonight's special batch quality and arrive somewhat tired-looking: tasty, but mostly unsubtle and overly spiced or salted. OK for a glass of wine and wander somewhere else among the new Oakland restaurants for better food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Good Pizza

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zza's Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zza's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.