We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average tonight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kincaid's

Kincaid's
1 Franklin St, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 835-8600
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kincaid's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,065 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embacadero West
Transit: Bus #58, 59, 72, 73
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just average tonight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family and I have dined at Kincaids many times over the years. The food and service has generally been very good. In the past, we have enjoyed the Filet Mignon, Dijon Chicken, Salmon.
Tonight we dined at Kincaid's for my adult daughter birthday. We arrived at 6:20 and were promptly seated. Service, although pleasant, however, was very slow and the restaurant was not very crowded. We ordered End Cut Roast Beef (petite), Dijon Chicken, Salmon. The food was good, but the presentation seemed to lack something tonight. While the food was good, it was nothing out of the ordinary, just ok. My daughter had the Banana Foster for dessert, again, just ok, presentation just average.
We will probably dine here again, but Kincaid no longer has the 'sizzle' or 'appeal' as a "wow" place to eat. In this category, their sister restaurant, Horatio in San Leandro does better. Price wise, lots of choices in the Bay area, Walnut Creek to consider.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    36
    38
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Expensive but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Sat in the bar, watched a playoff game (and the boats go by), had a few beers, then had dinner. Server David took good care of me, and manager David made sure of it. One of my favorite places to eat in the bay area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great view, food didn't measure up though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a table next to the bank of windows, so a great water view. Started with crab & artichoke dip which was very good. Also had a couple of nice cocktails. All good. But my entree didn't measure up. Since I was on the water I went with the Seafood Etoufee, which was full of various seafood. Unfortunately most of the seafood was overcooked, or just not fresh tasting. I get the impression that despite being on the water, Kincaid's seafood comes in frozen. Next time I'm in the area I'll try something different.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite places to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Always a treat to dine here with friends. Watch the boats.. sunset or chat with the staff... I like this place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The waiter was friendly and prompt (cute too.) The happy hour menu was varied and affordable. Food came quickly and hot from the kitchen. Loved looking over the water and boat harbor. We did not need dinner after happy hour ($8), but the prices were about twice ($15) for the same appetisers after 6PM. $5 Happy Hour drinks were wonderful. I enjoyed the cranberry mojito.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kincaid's also viewed

 

Been to Kincaid's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kincaid's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.