We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kincaid's

Kincaid's
1 Franklin St, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 835-8600
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kincaid's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,065 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embacadero West
Transit: Bus #58, 59, 72, 73
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Rockafeller oysters were very good, steak had to be returned as undercooked.

Good wine selection, good service, nice atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    36
    38
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food with a water view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great view of the water while you're eating. We stopped in for lunch and had the soup and sandwich combination. The french onion soup was very good as well as the turkey sandwich. They have a bloody mary bar that looked interesting but we didn't participate in that. Service was excellent. If you're in that area, its a good place to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, so-so food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The view from this place on the Oakland Estuary and Jack London Square is beautiful. The food is adequate. They do a decent job but, hey, this is the Bay Area -- in the area is Scotts next door (more expensive) and for truly wonderful SF area seafood try Hayes Street Grill or Sams. That said, the adequate food (and large selection) and nice view would be a higher rating except for the service. I've never had better than average service and usually worse. The servers go through the menu for you as if you cannot read -- but giving no more information than is on the menu. And the food comes very slowly and the presence of the server is sketchy at best. The last time our server disappeared after the desert and we had to eventually go fetch the maitre d' in order to get our bill ,,, when the server all of sudden miraculously reappeared. Since we were a larger group (8) they had added an automatic 18% service charge (it is noted on the menu). I crossed that off because of the poor service that even but when they processed the credit card, they had added it back in. While this may be technically legal, I find it disgusting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food...a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Overall a good experience...great service and quality food. A fun place to take friends from out of town or to have a romantic meal with your loved one.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A most enjoyable meal. The Surf and Turf was delicious, the service great and watching the sail boats on the bay was an added bonus. The waffle sundae was a great way to end the meal. Can't wait to go back to Oakland and Kincaid's. You'll enjoy it too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kincaid's also viewed

 

Been to Kincaid's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kincaid's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.