We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats not to like” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kincaid's

Kincaid's
1 Franklin St, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 835-8600
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,047 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embacadero West
Transit: Bus #58, 59, 72, 73
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Whats not to like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Food is just not food. It is a great place to go with friends and you get a great meal. Fun and easy place to meet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    33
    37
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
659 helpful votes 659 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was my first time at Kincaid's. I read all of the reviews before setting a business lunch here. I have to say, I agree totally with the 5 star reviews and just don't get the lesser reviews. The first thing I noticed (of course) was the location. It was beautiful there, right on the Jack London Square marina, overlooking the East Bay with sailboats all over the place (making me somewhat jealous) but strikingly beautiful to look at during lunch. Next came the service. The hostess was energetic and helpful, took us right to a great table served by Amanda, a charming and very helpful server. She was flawless. Amanda knew the menu, gave good advice, and the food was served perfectly correctly. The menu was broader than most any restaurant I visit - lots of seafood, meats of all kinds, salads of all kinds, soups of all kinds, and a very good wine list. So without belaboring this review, I just want to say it is the best place near downtown Oakland for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had dinner with a friend and the food and dessert were excellent. I ate braised boneless short ribs that were so tender that I didn't even need a knife. For dessert that had a peach cobbler which was very good. The service and the view made the evening wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I had a late lunch there on Saturday July 21st before going to the Yankees at A's game that night. It was a nice, chill atmosphere and we had a table inside right near the water. During our meal we saw a couple of kayakers and three boats that left the docks. We were looking for a nice relaxing meal on vacation and that was what we got. Our server, Olive was very nice and did a good job. I ordered the lobster bisque, which they poured right at the table. It was excellent. I also ordered the open-faced crab sandwich, which came with fries. I really enjoyed that too. My wife, who doesn't like seafood, also enjoyed her prime rib french dip sandwich as well. It really was a perfect and extremely enjoyable experience for us. A lot of times, when we go out to eat with our daughters, there is always that little sense of urgency to eat and not waste time. It was nice to be able to take our time and take in a nice atmosphere on our vacation. For $60 for lunch for the both of us, we both felt it was a very good value. I felt satisfied and full after our meal unlike what I felt after eating lunch at another seafood restaurant located in SF's Fisherman Wharf, which I also reviewed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, CT
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had lunch here sitting outside on Sunday afternoon while a festival/market was taking place in Jack London Square. A nice choice of interesting dishes with a local Califonia flair. Service was a bit slow, but attentive, and the food for our party of three all was quite good. A bit on the pricey side perhaps, but not too bad considering the prime location. I'd certainly go back again when in the area. We heard on the news that President Obama had lunch there the next day, so you know it is a popular, highly regarded restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kincaid's also viewed

 

Been to Kincaid's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kincaid's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.