We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Battam Bang

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Battam Bang
850 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4016
(510) 839-8815
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Cambodian, Contemporary
Restaurant details
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good authentic Cambodian food. Nice appetizers to share-good flavors. We shared several dishes such as a chicken curry, duck sausage and the Cambodian version of pad thai. Waitress was very helpful and did not rush us even though they were getting ready to close. This restaurant is right on Broadway near both the Marriot and Marriot Courtyard, close to Old Oakland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service but expected more from the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had dinner here the first night of my arrival. Ordered the baked eggplant with diced shrimp and pork based upon some positive reviews on Yelp. I even ordered it spicy but I guess Cambodian food isn't that spicy? There were only a few pieces of diced shrimp and it was a bit overcooked. Eggplant was good but I expected more flavor to the dish. Ate it with an order of white rice.

Also ordered their fried bananas and coconut ice cream for dessert. Did not really like the fried bananas because it came in a thick battered coating that tasted like a donut. The coconut ice cream was delicious though. Creamy and just the right amount of coconut flavor...yum.

Next time I'm back in Oakland I might give them another try and order something else. Definitely coconut ice cream again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG BEACH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just drove 400 miles and found this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent all round. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The veggie choices are abundant. The food was not spicy but great flavors made the meal grealky special. My first experience of Cambodian food and definitely not the last.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice local Cambodian place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Came here for a bite to eat and a drink with a friend after the bar exam. The owner was extremely nice and very helpful in selecting dishes. The service was attentive, and the food was very good. A pleasant surprise, and a good alternative to the chains in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Entrees and Appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to eat dinner there -with a group of six. friends, We ordered one of each of the four vegetarian appetizers. Each one was excellent-especially the crepe and papaya salad.
The vegetarian and the seafood entrees were enjoyed by all.
I would expect everyone to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battam Bang also viewed

 

Been to Battam Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battam Bang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.