We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Quiet room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, good breakfast. Easy to access from the freeway. Room was cleaned before 9 am while we were at breakfast, and they changed the towels, even though we'd hung them up on the towel bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

July 11th Stayed at Bayside to go to a Giant's game. It has been awhile since I can't say enough about Jay, the front office manger, his staff and the accomodation they were all top notch. I made a mistake when booking our room and Jay quickly found the problem and a solution. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We took the shuttle to the Ferry and had a great ride over to the ballpark. Giants WON! It was late when the ferry returned to Jack London Square, but one phone call and the shuttle picked us up and drove us to back to Bayside.

It was midnight when we returned. We were starving (No ballpark food for me) our driver mentioned Pizza in our and I thought Oh geez noooooooooooooo. I told my husband to get the car I we would find something. I walked in the lobby and both folks at the desk were so helpful. They printed a map to the best mexican restaurant I have eaten at since I left Arizona and the margarita was fantastic. The folks at the hotel deserve KUDO's for friendly, courteous, outstanding service.

The self sevice coffee bar is amazing, I was too late for breakfast, but I am sure it must have been delightful.

Thanks Jay and staff for making my 1st Giants game a great outing!
A & M from Sacramento

Room Tip: facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel was a great experience. I stayed at the Best Western on Wednesday to Friday, for a short 2 day get-a-way with my boyfriend for my birthday. We went bar hoping in Oakland, and didn't want to drive home after a night of drinking, so we decided to stay at a local hotel. I have to say that I was very pleased with everything. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the view from the balcony was beautiful. The bathrooms were spacious and very clean (I am very picky when it comes to bathroom hygiene). A huge plus is the continental breakfast the hotel provides in the morning. There is a variety of cereals, morning pastries, a waffle maker, and much more. The breakfast attendant, Jasmine, was very hospitable. She was very attentive, as well as offered different options that she thought we would enjoy. I have experienced several continental breakfasts, and this one by far is one of the bests. If I ever have to stay in Oakland again, I will stay at the Best Western. This hotel is worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our one night at the Best Western was memorable because of the attentiveness of the staff. We arrived tired and hungry, and the staff quickly checked us into our beautiful room and offered suggestions to where to eat. They even had a free shuttle service so we did not have to drive, and after spending most of the day driving this was a real treat. Our room was nicely decorated and very spacious. The complimentary breakfast was more or less standard with fresh fruits and pastries and a waffle iron. Our stay was so brief, we cannot really rate other amenities offered by the hotel. One thing, the trip advisor website puts this hotel on treasure island and it isn't. The hotel is located in Oakland bayside.

Room Tip: Whirlpool room is a nice selection to help relieve the stress of traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visited the Best Western Bayside Plus while combining it with a trip to San Fran and visiting family in the Oakland area- visiting from the UK.

I emailed the hotel prior to arrival to find out directions from the airport ect and they kindly responded with a very helpful email, out-laying any information that they they thought we needed - extremely helpful.

They collected us from the airport via their shuttle service and we used this shuttle very day to and from train stations. Could not be more grateful for this as this saved us A LOT of cab rides and money.

Two of the days we were dropped off at the port to pick the ferry up that takes you straight to San Fran Bay which was brilliant.

Our room was upgraded to a Waterview Suite and WOW, how lovely. The bathroom was perfect and the room was spacious and clean. I wish we had longer than three days in Oakland/San Fran and this hotel was a major factor in creating a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmyLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a copy of the letter I sent back to the manger...let's just say it was not a nice hotel!

I did report the problem about the room smell when I checked in. I asked to change to another room and was told the hotel was full. I asked for some Lysol etc to spray in the room and a housekeeper brought a bottle of spray cleaner....which I used, but it didn't help.

I couldn't use the heater in the room because a terrible odor came from that, too! The manager insisted that the smell was the water outside but it was not. I live next to the Bay and my house is right on a big creek, so I'm familiar with the smells of water. This was body odor......the smell coming from the heater was unknown...mold, mildew, rot? We aired the room with the front and sliding glass doors open for hours and we had to sleep with the sliding glass door open all night.

There were NO blankets in our room. I checked the closet, of course. There was only a sheet on the bed. We tried to sleep, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable and no, I didn't call at 3 in the morning to have someone search for a blanket. I assumed the staff was gone because several times I didn't even see someone at the front desk......I shouldn't have to get dressed and call to find someone, then wait for them to search and then finally come to the room or tell me there aren't any blankets available. I have never been in such a situation!


"I can assure you that not many hotels would be willing to pay for you cab fare that they are not responsible for to appease your needs."


I was told when I made the reservation at this hotel that a shuttle would take me to the airport and pick me up! I gave them the flight times, so the hotel is responsible for this service and If a mistake was made, they were expected to make it right...including paying for a cab. Your statement that you're being "very generous" for doing what you were supposed to do, is unwarranted.

I don't consider $40 a generous discount! I spent that amount in gas driving home and then driving back to the hotel at 1:00 am. I do not consider anything about this hotel to warrant a number one spot on TripAdvisor. I will never stay at this hotel again and I will be a lot more careful with TripAdvisor. I'm now going to be wary of Best Western, since I thought they had certain standards.

Room Tip: Get a room with the balcony, you'll want to air out the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice any environmentally-friendly practices, except maybe, reuse the towels?
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank klcgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were quite surprised upon arrival. Only there for one night but when we walk in we were surprised at how nice the hotel was. Beautiful view of water, friendly staff, were at to check in quickly and head to coliseum which is just minutes away. Very nice rooms, clean and comfy, and nicely decorated. Nice eating area for breakfast, over looks water.

Room Tip: request room facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbolson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#2 of 48 in Oakland
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel

Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing