We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Charles, United States
1 review
“More than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Due to a bad stay at a Best Western years ago was never too big of a fan of the chain. That all changed when I had to stay at a Best Western Plus in Oakland Ca. Incredible hotel, incredible room, great service and a great nights sleep. All anyone could ask for from a hotel. Great Job Cameron at the front desk!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    88
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
134
100
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our family of 4 arrived in Oakland to find that ALL the hotels/inns in the area were either fully booked or way out of our budget or in not very desirable areas for a family with young kids to stay. When we walked in to the Executive Inn & Suites next to the Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel (same hotel essentially), Josh greeted us and although they were fully booked, he offered the phone lines and business centre in effort to support our hunt for another location. After checking a few other locations and some 2 hours later, still no luck. Cameron at reservations located the only room that became available in the Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel and made it work for the duration of our stay in Oakland. He was polite, sincere and professional throughout the whole process. Without Josh and Cameron's service and going the extra mile, we would not be able to enjoy a very comfortable stay while visiting our family in Oakland. The room was spacious and very nice. Not to mention, Martha's pleasant service at breakfast every morning was always delightful. Many thanks for the outstanding customer service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had never stayed at this property before so I didn't know to expect. It was a very pleasant surprise to walk into a spacious lobby, well appointed, bright and overlooking Oakland/Alameda estuary. Friendly staff who checked me in and directed me a very well appointed room. Spacious, clean and quiet. More than I expected. This property is just South of the downtown Oakland exits and easy to get to from Southbound I-880 and a bit more of a challenge from Northbound I-880 but worth the effort. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I called to make reservations today only to find out the hotel was completely booked. I really needed this room becasue it is for a business trip and I never thought a placed would be sold out on a Tuesday night but I was wrong. I spoke with Symone at the hotel and she was EXTREMELY helpful. She did get me booked there for the following night and then started searching to get me a room for tomorrow night. She was so patient and helpful and even called me back with another suggestion. I was in a panic over this and I am so glad I had Symone to help help me. She is great !! Best Western Hotels have always provided me with great service but this was above and beyond. Thank You Symone !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband stayed in this hotel in December. At 2:00 in the afternoon, he became suddenly ill and needed to fly home urgently. After changing his flight time from the next day to the current day, I called the office at this hotel and spoke with Symone. This woman went so far out of her way to help us in a bad situation. She arranged for the hotel shuttle service to pick my husband up, she created a BART schedule that fit his flight times, she even checked him in on his flight! To top it off, she proceeded to not charge us for the night even though check out times were much earlier that day.

Best Western- this employee is a keeper!! Because of her quality of service, whenever we travel in that area, we will definitely be staying with you. Unbelievable, amazing, and such considerate and empathy filled service. Awesome.

My husband also said that this hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

When we arrived a little after 12 Noon, no rooms were available for early check-in, and the only place you can store your luggage would be in the Mgr's office, which is located behind a curtained entry--hardly a place to store your luggage and feel secure that your electronics will remain untouched!

Since we were forewarned by residents of San Francisco that leaving your luggage stored in your vehicle while touring the Golden Gate Park was not a good idea--too many cases of break-ins--we ended up taking our luggage with us, parking in the Music Concourse parking facility and having our son stay in our vehicle and catch on some much-needed sleep while his kids and I toured the CA Academy of Sciences. :-(

When we got back to the hotel, which was after 6 PM, we were assigned a room on the second floor, at my request. When we got in the room, there were used towels and cups lying around. I brought this up to Daniel, the Night Mgr, who graciously moved us to another room.

The rooms are spacious, not only in the main area but also in the bathroom, which has a tub, walk-in shower and separate toilet room. The bath amenities are good--just LOVE their spa-quality soaps!

Cleanliness is an issue. For a nicely decorated, recently updated hotel, their housekeepers leave much to be desired in terms of their cleaning skills. Sloths, maybe? There were hair strands on the toilet room floor (what, no vacuum cleaner?); pinkish tinge ringing the water line (what, you haven't sanitized the toilet for how long?!). It made me use the shower with trepidation...and I didn't have shower shoes to use...:-(

The public areas are clean, shiny and beautifully decorated. The sofas that sit in different places around the lobby and breakfast area are comfy and the setup tasteful. They have 24 hour coffee, tea and hot chocolate machine available; great for late arrivals and early risers.

Daniel, the Night Mgr, is not only friendly, courteous and very accommodating, but he makes you feel valued--a characteristic often lacking in front desk staff. The gal (sorry, I didn't get her name) who takes care of the breakfast setup is friendly and cheerful--a nice personality to make a person's first morning encounter that much more pleasurable!

I loved waking up and enjoying breakfast while viewing the water, seeing the ducks swimming around, and the marina on both sides of the hotel. A paved path runs along the shoreline, so you can actually go for a nice walk along that gorgeous setting.

The location, though not one you'd want to be strolling at night, is an easy-on, easy-off access from the freeway (I-880).

I would book a room in this place again if I'm in the area, and by then, I hope the cleanliness level is much better than it was when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

very clean and nice place to stay ... good quality we enjoyed the view of the city .... clean and quiet .... the staff was friendly and .... the breakfast was nice. we would stay again. Some nice parts of the city are close

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel

Address: 1717 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel's stunning views and rooms overlooking Oakland's estuary. We are 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. Our rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged for a relaxing stay. The bathrooms are extravagantly designed with a glass enclosed shower separated from a soaking tub and private water closet. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator & in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.